We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chickpea bullets were the lowlight...”
Review of Main Street Deli

Main Street Deli
Ranked #4 of 5 Quick Bites in Greytown
Price range: US$10 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Afternoons spent sitting in the sun, drinking freshly roasted coffee, laughing with friends, and listening to the birds sing. this is the heart of greytown. this is the main st. deli. enjoy our fresh home baking, taste our salads crafted from fresh seasonal ingredients, sample a range of artisanal deli foods, and take home a jar of our signature homemade preserves. we've also expanded our deli and given our courtyard garden a gorgeous makeover. head outdoors to the quiet rear courtyard, sit amongst the maples and enjoy all the main st. deli has to offer.
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Dropped in after a long day in the Tararuas. Kitchen was closed (as were most other Greytown cafes). There was a very limited vegetarian selection, so we went for two cheese and onion toasties and a chickpea salad. The toasties turned up lonely on the plate - no relish, garnish or anything. But they were quite edible. The chickpea salad was *terrible* - the chickpeas had either been half-cooked and then fried, or they had been left out for days to dry. They were tough as old boots. How can you get chickpeas wrong?

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2020

Its the highly processed puree that tastes very average. The owners attitude sucks when you raise it too. no refund & no alternative offered.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank NZTrimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Stopped in with hungry teenagers on the way through the wairarapa again . One seafood chowder two healthy brekkies and an eggs Benny. The healthy brekkies were lovely. Poached eggs were perfect and avo feta combo was tasty and plentiful .As usual the eggs benny and seafood chowder didn’t fail to impress especially as they went out of their way to accommodate me with the best chowder I’ve had even though it was still the breakfast menu time. A regular stop for us in greytown for great coffee lovely outdoor courtyard area and helpful staff.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank captaincuisine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020

On a hot day it was very pleasant sitting outdoors and eating lunch in the rear courtyard. It’s not clear in the cafe that this area is here, as it is through another room and in the rear. But it is a lovely spot for lunch. Food was great, service was a little slow, but food and drinks were good.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2020

First time in town and didn’t do our research - came here for brunch. All had the “healthy breakfast” - smashed avo on Sourdough toast With feta and a grilled lemon. We stupidly all got the same so can only comment on this one dish.
The avo is the frozen puréed type- which I feel should be stated? The feta is minimal and the sour dough was untoasted. No garnish or anything. Was honestly revolting. The wait staff asked how everything was and I said not great to be honest (as I would rather give feedback on site) - she sort of smiled and walked away taking our half finished meals with her.
Oh and it was $20!
Please note photo of my “grilled” lemon - it had a tomato seed on it so possibly second hand?

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank keywez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Main Street Deli also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Main Street Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.