We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DaveAnita2016
Snells Beach, New Zealand

Good central location

Review of The White Swan
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024via mobile
Good location on the main strip of character filled town. Nice room upstairs above hotel. We didn’t find the noise tone a problem as some have mentioned. Good clean room tastefully decorated. Nice sunny verandah to watch the sun go down on having a quiet drink. Staff all friendly and helpful.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: If you think traffic/restaurant noise is going to annoy you ask fora room out back but it didn’t...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Front
0.2 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.8 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.2 km from The White Swan
Free parking
Pool
0.6 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
1.3 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.5 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beer battered fresh fish - what better?
7.2 km from The White Swan
Dessert was ok but nothing special.
0.6 km from The White Swan
Bar/Lounge
Briarwood's formal garden
0.7 km from The White Swan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greytown
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
142
83
32
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
142
83
32
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white swan course dinner white room bar and restaurant monday night hotel room mid week themed suites old building beef lovely dinner the main hotel wine list burger small balcony the main street two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Our venue of choice when passing through Greytown. It's a lovely pub and very comfortable and cosey at the back of the bar, with the fire raging - hard to believe it was cold enough to warrant lighting the fire when autumn is barely upon us.
As always the feed was good, although on the pricey side for burgers and fish & chips. The Pork Belly Bowl was a great choice and very tasty. Great service.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights including Valentines
The hotel has a quiet, aged charm which is synonymous with the town, enabling a get away from it all feeling
Our stay in the Homestead Suite was relaxing, the rooms’s deck and a glass of wine made for an airy escape from the sun and the towns hustle and bustle.
We ate in the restaurant and found the meals to be of the high standard we expected
esp. on Valentines Day. We had the chef’s special and were not disappointed, while on the other nights had meals delivered to our room, after tiring days of investigating the local shops and wineries.
All the staff (many thanks to Jamie, Tanya and Femke) were very helpful and assisted with a professional manner, sprinkling with their own personality, that could not be faulted.
Many thanks for enabling us to getaway from it all
We will be returning
M

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stay48541253825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

We had an anniversary dinner in the restaurant here and regretted it. My meal was passable, but my husband’s lamb was practically inedible- tough and greasy. And the price was over the top. Staff were not interested in our experience- if you ask ‘how was the meal’ and the reply is ‘ not very good’ be interested in finding out more! It’s the only way to improve. We won’t be coming back again - it was not our first poor experience here but we like to give places a second chance.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ausjane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

we stayed on a Thursday night in January .four of us ( two couples . We could only get one studio so we took a park suite at $265. It was a lovely room but well overpriced.The biggest let down was the restaurant. Nothing wrong with the food or service. But we booked in at 7.45 pm and were advised we only had a table until 9.30pm presumably to allow the table to be used again (lol ) at 8.30 they started closing restaurant !!!!!!!!!!! we spent $700 in the bar and restaurant and won't be doing it again. We felt rushed and as guests will not use this hotel again. if you go for dinner go at six !!! I understand staff want to go if they are not busy but respect the paying guest. I reported this to the manager / owner who was totally unaware . She suggested we should have gone in the bar until I pointed out that was already shut !!!
they clearly need more competition to improve their service . We won't be back
so much potential !!!

Room tip: go for dinner early !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stuart745
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Room was well presented, clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and courteous. Food and drink in the GastroPub were good value and tasty. A good base to explore Greytown and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious42111378678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews