We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunned by the lack of friendliness”
Review of French Bakery

French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Greytown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 29 July 2021

We were in Greytown to enjoy and spend up at the Festival of Christmas but was totally shocked at the rude service I received here. Popped in early for a loaf of bread on Sunday morning - tried to make conversation with the "gentleman" serving which was met with monosyllables and zero friendliness. Wow, really?? Too early for you to make a customer feel valued perhaps? Maybe stay in bed then. Clareville bakery is only 5 mins up the road remember...

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cowgirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

Delicious pastries, consistent high quality. Outstanding barista who warmed up our cold mornings this weekend, did not get her name but she was a star

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank pb0wden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Nice cafe on the main drag of town. Very good pastries and some great tarts. Bread is not bad either.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021

We both ordered the pancakes and, in hindsight, could have split a serving. A huge pile with plenty of bacon and bananas. Perfectly cooked. Coffee was good too.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our cake and coffee at this bakery. The cake was delicious and service excellent. Definitely to be recommended.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed French Bakery also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.