We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service ”
Review of Cuckoo

Cuckoo
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 March 2021 via mobile

We had an enjoyable meal with both of us having the fresh battered terakihi and chips.
Well cooked and a good portion size.
The service was friendly and very attentive and the place was busy but very efficient in getting the food out.

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank Steve265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

We visit Greytown often but have never taken the opportunity to eat here, thank god we found this amazing restaurant.
The venue itself has heaps of style and even has some outdoor space at the back.
With the family (2 x grown ups and 2 x kids) we orders the two regular pizzas, a basic cheese n tomato for the kids and one with the house made salami for us. My goodness they didn’t last long when they arrived and they were DELICIOUS!
Thoroughly recommend you give this restaurants try but form the looks of how busy it was when we left you want to really think about ordering early. Or taking your time and enjoying a few wines while you wait.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank AnthonyG542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020

We ordered five pizzas, by phone, for collection. We were told that there would be a 35-40 minute wait. They would phone us when the pizzas were ready. We waited the 40 minutes and as we had no phone call we decided to walk to them. We paid when we arrived. Eventually 85 minutes after we had ordered the pizzas were ready. No apology and in fact some belligerence from them. The pizzas were OK but not worth the wait.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuckooPizzaGreytown, Owner at Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Sadly Paul is the type of customer that can not be avoided in our industry. Fortunately he and his group are the exception not the rule. A large group of 8 or more expecting service on a weekend at peak time shouldn’t be upset that our first priority is to our diners. We aim to have meals ready in a timely manner but realising it would take longer you agreed to a phone call at home to avoid a lengthy wait. Instead you proceeded to return early en masse disrupting service and haranguing a female staff member. I was available Paul why did you not ask to speak to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020

The restaurant is undergoing renovations so no dine in is available at the moment. But takeaways are still available. A gluten free pizza is also available. We phoned in the order and they were ready a little after the booked time. We enjoyed the variety offered and would return.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2020

We were recommended this place by our AirBnB hosts and were not disappointed. A small eclectic venue with very tasty pizza's and pasta's. Really enjoyed a Friday night bite here with a bottle of wine !!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silentpartner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cuckoo also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.