We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot!”
Review of Pinocchio

Pinocchio
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just such an enjoyable long lunch with friends! Great service and great food! Booked to go with some visiting friends and was so impressed…again. Initially seated inside we were quickly moved outside on request. We had a dozen oysters followed by sharing one or two of each of the appetisers with the addition of their wonderful house fries. And even a shared dessert…salted caramel and dark chocolate tart! Divine! Service was attentive and friendly but unobtrusive. So recommend for great food, great service!!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank MillieMollieMandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked many weeks in advance not even to be given front window table. Limited cocktails, limited food menu.
Abrupt introduction regarding specials, as if it was too much to ask for questions regarding alternative options.
Way over priced for what was delivered.
House staff lovely, pity management needs to be more polite to guests simple requests.
Would not recommend.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Lynnenz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

Overpriced and very small portions. Below average quality. Rubbery squid and overcooked fish. Service disjointed. Won't be back.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Trip37313552289
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinotM, Owner at Pinocchio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Hi there,
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Pinocchio. This seems very unusual and not what we pride ourselves on.
Please can you email me at elly@pinocchiogreytown.co.nz to talk further about this. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2021

This is one of the few good restaurants in Greytown. It’s worth a visit, But unhappily our evening out coincided with the Winter Christmas festival and it was all rather shambolic. We were left freezing cold as inevitably many people came and went through the main door right by our table. If you eat here, be sure to see where your table is and what else may be on in town. You may score well if it is a quiet time. But if it is not, do take care to make sure your night is set up to be enjoyable. Our experience was not.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gisborneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We come to Pinocchio on a fairly regular basis and it never disappoints. The highlight for me on this occasion is that Paul has put the white chocolate parfait back on the menu and it's fabulous and well worth waiting for.
Service, as always, was great.
We'll be back again guys!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Pinocchio also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pinocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.