We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing dining experience. ”
Review of Pinocchio

Pinocchio
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

Overpriced and very small portions. Below average quality. Rubbery squid and overcooked fish. Service disjointed. Won't be back.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Trip37313552289
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinotM, Owner at Pinocchio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Hi there,
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Pinocchio. This seems very unusual and not what we pride ourselves on.
Please can you email me at elly@pinocchiogreytown.co.nz to talk further about this. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2021

This is one of the few good restaurants in Greytown. It’s worth a visit, But unhappily our evening out coincided with the Winter Christmas festival and it was all rather shambolic. We were left freezing cold as inevitably many people came and went through the main door right by our table. If you eat here, be sure to see where your table is and what else may be on in town. You may score well if it is a quiet time. But if it is not, do take care to make sure your night is set up to be enjoyable. Our experience was not.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gisborneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We come to Pinocchio on a fairly regular basis and it never disappoints. The highlight for me on this occasion is that Paul has put the white chocolate parfait back on the menu and it's fabulous and well worth waiting for.
Service, as always, was great.
We'll be back again guys!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

I happened to venture in while staying in town on business, it was gourmet burger night. This gives you a choice of 4 different burger flavours I had the beef cheek it comes with hand cut fries and a glass of wine or beer. The burger was delicious as were the fries and the local Pinot Noir was just paired right with the burger I chose. I indulged myself with the lemon tart desert and again was not disappointed. The service is efficient and very friendly all in all a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended if you find yourself in need of dinner on a Wednesday night in Greytown

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Paulhollingsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

My daughter and I dined here when passing through Greytown. Service was very good, friendly and prompt but not over the top. We ordered the beef cheeks for two - with two side dishes of our choice, we ordered twice cooked hand cut chips and cauliflower and rocket salad as our sides. The food was amazing! Melt in your mouth beef cheeks on parsnip puree and slaw. We ordered local wine on the recommendation of the waitress, Luna pinot noir which was delicious and perfect with the meal.
We didn't want coffee so late so we ordered two scoops of vanilla bean ice cream to finish. Nothing was a problem, Highly recommend! Without a doubt we would return as we both said this was the best meal out we have had in a long time!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank LoisM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Pinocchio also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pinocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.