We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling food and pricing”
Review of Brasserie 74

Brasserie 74
Ranked #14 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 February 2021

Changing the name of this place has not redeemed it in any way. The service was good but the food was appalling and significantly over priced. I do not expect some cheap lettuce with a bits of bacon and a few seeds to cost $18 - outrageous!
Would recommend or plan to return.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank adeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

4 of us had lunch there
Completely forgot an order
Food was overpriced and poor quality
Was over charged $1000 with pay wave?
Russell refunded when I discovered error and offered to send a voucher to make up for the treatment received
Russell you have not sent a voucher and clearly had no intention of doing so
This establishment and its management are a disgrace

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank JohnO4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

now a burger and beer diner. had superb meal. 2 of us asked for special requests. they were so happy to oblige. great wait staff. fish and beef burgers sublime. wonderful night. support local!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 446niccig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Had a great lunch, they were amazing and offered us to select something from the menu - we were slightly late for the “ normal lunch time”. But they offered that we could place an order. Food and service was awesome. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louisepinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

Thought we would treat ourselves to a nice breakfast, basic menu, and I asked if they could do bacon and eggs as this was not on the menu, NO was the answer, yet on the menu you can have eggs and add bacon for an xtra cost ! Would not do bacon and eggs !! The person serving us lacked personality and the fundamental ability to offer a solution to a simple, or seemingly simple request.
Won’t be back.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank AlpineLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearless54959753559, Owner at Brasserie 74, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2020

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience. We are more than happy to accommodate such a simple order and normally do. Please feel free to contact us directly on the business number 06 929 8208, as I would love to find out what happened and who was your waiter/waitress on the day so that we can avoid this in the future. We do hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie 74 also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Brasserie 74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.