We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
12
17
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
17
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire escape restaurant downstairs hand basin cooked perfectly steak friday night country hotel road noise upstairs tv wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2020

Went to the restaurant only as it was the only one of two restaurants open in Greytown on a Tuesday night. Great customer service with the waitress but the food was VERY average pub grub which was grossly overpriced. Would recommend the other restaurant (Indian) even though we haven't eaten there.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jones128i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

The upstairs bedroom we were in (Room 2) was on the road front and it was a choice between heat with the window closed or road noise with it open. I note that there was a fan in the room which we didn't use. Tne room is pretty basic with beds, and a hand basin.
The restaurant downstairs was very good and has clearly been remodelled in the last few years. We didn't use the bar downstairs but it looked good with inside and outside tables. There wasn't much noise from the bar even though we were there on a friday night.

Room tip: If you can avoid rooms that front on to the main road.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisE258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

After being directed by my lovely wife to bring the 20kg bags up the outside staircase that turned into a ladder at the last 10ft & throwing the bag onto the landing where I stood worn out, then to hear the owner Tony shout out “don’t use the fire escape the inside stairwell is much easier” I thought this is going to be a long night.
Well I was wrong, Room 1 upstairs was quaint, very clean with a TV, hand basin in the room & the bathroom / toilet located nearby. The only addition that I would make is the inclusion of a small fridge under the TV replacing the table & yes the beds were very comfortable. You may hear a few trucks through the night but earplugs certainly sorted that issue out.
The highlight of the stay was the 1860 Restaurant, my wife had Swordfish & had the Lamb, where we both agreed that it was definitely “Fine Dining at it’s Finest”
Thanks for a lovely stay

Room tip: Earplugs & the ability to enjoy a lovely Restaurant “1860”
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyHTims59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler10941035406, Owner at Greytown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2020

Hello Rusty

Thanks for your nice humorous review, glad you enjoyed your stay and also the restaurant, thanks also for the tip about the fridge I have set about Tony to put a small fridge in there today, nice to give him something to do during level 4 lockdown, (we had a spare one in storage) I even suggested it may be easier to take it up the fire escape, to which he laughed loudly. All the best and hope to see you again in the future. Ursula Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Had the 3 course Chefs Menu, food was spot on especially like the Ostrich Back steaks, first time and were cooked perfectly! Greta value pleasant setting and servicing staff spot on! Def worth the visit

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K8967C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristhian A, Front Office Manager at Greytown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

very glad to hear from you and your experience with us.

Hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Great little traditional pub. The bar was lively with locals.
The accommodation is clean, comfortable and at $95 a night is good value. Staff are very friendly.
Bear in mind that if it’s a weekend stay there will be music from the bar till after midnight, and as the hotel is situated on a main route north there is traffic noise.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank uiguyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews