We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Review of Cafe Medici

Cafe Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Semi formal Bistro café ala carte menu, Children menú available with a daily chef special
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were so friendly and suggested some great things to do. The food was Devine and in fact went back a second day as it was so nice ..

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank tiger96_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2021

We had booked here in plenty of time giving us an hour & half before starting a wine tour on Saturday 23rd October. We waited over an hour for our meal & noticed at least three other tables being apologised to and offered a scone or slice of cake as an interim measure, we did not eat ours as we had lunch supposedly coming. They were very busy but you know what you’re up for on a long weekend. In the end
, we had to ask where our food was and had twenty minutes to eat hurriedly in order to catch the wine shuttle. Waiting over an hour is unacceptable when paying $83.00 for two.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Knowmyfood1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2021

We went to Medici for brunch on a Sunday morning. We had no booking but were fitted in and received excellent service.
Menus and water arrived almost immediately, orders taken in good time and the food was wonderful. I had the French toast which far exceeded my expectations.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 327mariannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

The vegan Tofu scrambled was the best I have ever had. I was so impressed I’m now typing this on this site that I never put reviews on.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank MandyB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

We went here for breakfast. The two things that made the experience poor were firstly - poached eggs are supposed to have a ‘runny’ yolk, and unfortunately they were not. On an eggs Benedict a ‘runny’ yolk is what one expects. For a restaurant that prides itself on making food from scratch this was less then expected. The second aspect was the music. For the short time we were there the music was loud, then off, then quite… the ambience was terrible. I won’t be returning - especially when there are other better options just across the road.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank rajeshp352
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Medici also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Cafe Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.