We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
91
44
11
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
44
11
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom cottage electric blankets outdoor patio lovely massage breakfast ingredients heat pump stayed two nights peaceful location accommodation facilities makings bbq rates winter outlook kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2020

We had a group of 4 couples and had a cottage with 4 double rooms and 3 bathrooms. It was serviced daily and supplied with breakfast ingredients. They need to update property details as it still showed a Spa Pool which has now been removed but the Gym & Lap pool were good. Was a great base to visit many local sights with plenty of eating options nearby.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterdI6836DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hi, thanks for your feedback on your stay with us back in March. Apologies for not responding sooner. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Brackenridge when you are next visiting Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed here one night as we are traveling down through the country and using B&Bs and small hotels. Looked lovely as we arrived, in the country and traditional build. Lovely friendly lady on the desk greeted us and chatted about the area and our room. We had a studio which was really lovely with some outside space which was a bonus. Little kitchenette with the makings of breakfast, large comfy bed and seating area plus a lovely light bathroom. A delightful place to stay and tour the local wineries and Martinborough itself which is a really lovely town with some great little shops, cafes and restaurants. The only reason for not rating this property five star is the internet is limited which is a huge shame as it really deserves to be five star.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H2331SYkarend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thankyou for your feedback on your stay with us back in March. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Apologies for taking so long to respond, we have had some issues with Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brackenridge on your next trip to Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

Sadly we only had 1 night here as the wheelchair accessible studio was booked out successive nights, but the 1 night we had was perfect. Friendly staff, great studio in a lovely spot. From a wheelchair accessible point of view the studio was great - good bathroom with wet area shower, grab rails where they needed to be. Bed height was good and plenty of space to move around. Only downside was there was no ramp to the outdoor patio and had we wanted to use it I would have had to go around the other studios and across the grass area to get to it externally. However, I never asked if there was a portable ramp that was available. Would do that next time we stayed if longer than 1 night.
reasonable room rate for the time of year and would highly recommend. easy drive or bike ride into Martinborough or to the surrounding wineries, so a great location. lovely and quiet too. it was a perfect anniversary treat for us.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank medievalscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hi, thanks for your feedback on your stay with us back in February. Pleased that you enjoyed Brackenridge and what we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020

When booking our stay the team were really pleasant and helpful. We were really looking forward to it. We were celebrating a really special family birthday and this was going to be a big treat!

On arrival and throughout our entire stay, the customer service was absolutely appalling! We only stayed one night but there were so many errors and problems that I had to sort out throughout the short time we stayed there. At no point during the stay did anyone apologise for anything. I felt like we were an inconvenience rather than a guest.

With everything that went wrong I made a complaint after we left, as our celebration had been ruined by all the admin and issues I ended up having to deal with. Only then did I get an apology but there was no offer of any partial refund, even though they admitted that it had been a bad experience. I feel utterly ripped off to be honest. Such a shame, because the facilities are wonderful and the setting is really stunning. Gutted, but I'll never go back there and I'd definitely not recommend it to anyone from now on.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GBWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

Had a “Special” booking for 40 min facial and 40 min massage $99. On the day we were told that one therapist was sick and all we could be offered was 65 mins $99 - no difference in cost as the booked treatments (suggested by their staff member on booking!) were a “Special”. No complaints about the lovely facial and massage except 15 mins less than booked etc. Products great. When we queried the cost, we were told change could only be made by the manager - who was not on the premises or available. People get sick, go on holiday etc but I felt the lovely young staff were doing their best without management! Hope this is resolved quickly as this is a lovely facility.
We both enjoyed the treatment and were glad we’d gone - the other option was to cancel out altogether- 0 dollars!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChrisT7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hi, thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry that you never got what you had actually booked.
I am pleased however that you did enjoy the treatment you did have. Hopefully we will see you back in the Spa on your next visit to Martinborough.
( apologies as well for not responding earlier, we have experienced some issues with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews