We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...service lacking”

Union Square Bistro and Bar
Reserve a table
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 September 2021

Visited on a Saturday night..place was pumping...nice atmosphere....food was just divine...bread, lamb, beef, burger and whitebait fritter. Could not be faulted!

Our waiter however managed to forget our drinks order then a whole main..then as means as an apology offered the main and a glass of wine on the house but never passed that on to the maitre d...so was a wee bit awkward when we came to pay lol

Food was top notch..service was lacking

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank suzannej622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2021

Our group of six friends loved everything about the USB, from its warm and comfortable atmosphere, it’s attentive, knowledgeable and fun staff, to the sublime food. Every item we tried was noteworthy and it is perhaps unfair to single out dishes, but the tempura nori tuna was stunning, as was the twice baked blue cheese soufflé, the cassoulet and the fillet steak. Every dessert was delicious and generous. A comprehensive wine list added to the enjoyment of the food. This is a fantastic restaurant in a gorgeous, iconic old building and we would happily return on future visits to Martinborough.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank RobynT793
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

I’ve been here before and had a great experience but my partner and I dined here over the weekend and weren’t all that impressed. We were sat down and left unserved for half an hour until my partner had to go and ask for a menu. Food came out in good time but one meal was very dry and average. Wait staff were inconsistent. One of the kitchen staff was out with the chef and had long hair untied down his back. All in all improvements needed in this restaurant, will come again as I hope this was a one off but service staff need to be better organised and cassoulet was over cooked. Hope to come again and have a better experience

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021

the food and atmosphere make for a great night out in Martinborough. I like to start my weekend here on a Friday night if having friends to stay for the weekend. The food on Friday was absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank 742michellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

We really enjoyed this restaurant which has great food, ambience and staff. We would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauraLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Union Square Bistro and Bar also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Union Square Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.