We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the day”
Review of Luna Estate

Luna Estate
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Martinborough
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Description: Luna Estate winery offers a cellar door where you can sample the range of wines we produce from our two Martinborough vineyard blocks. Our restaurant (reopened in June 2018) focuses on dumplings and other Asian inspired dishes, providing the perfect compliment to our range of elegant wines. We have indoor seating for 20 and a large outdoor terrace. We open 7 days a week, no bookings taken.
Restaurant details
Description: Luna Estate winery offers a cellar door where you can sample the range of wines we produce from our two Martinborough vineyard blocks. Our restaurant (reopened in June 2018) focuses on dumplings and other Asian inspired dishes, providing the perfect compliment to our range of elegant wines. We have indoor seating for 20 and a large outdoor terrace. We open 7 days a week, no bookings taken.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After a rocky start to the day forgetting phone and camera Luna's staff put the birthday back on track with excellent service, food and wine. A huge thank you to all especially Beck for the little things you did. To anyone visiting Martinborough this should be high on your list to try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vivienneathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Vivianne, thanks for your wonderful review! Great to hear you had a lovely time and Bec looked after you so well. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice location, very nice people, very nice wines and good food. You get a real value for your money. And a lovely experience.

Thank HansRudolfH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We visited Luna Estate today and it was just beautiful. The entire experience from our wine tasting to lunch was lovely. The veggie dumplings are out of this world! The ladies that looked after us were fantastic. Wish we could’ve stayed longer. If we’re back in the area we will definitely visit again!

Thank Cassandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We think the combination of wine and dumplings is pretty good too! Lovely review thanks and hopefully you can come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Luna has its visitor centre in a delightful corner of the property with natural contour and stands of trees. The reception and restaurant are bright contemporary buildings. We were able to taste as many of their wines as we liked for just $5. The wines are very well made and we chose a riesling and a pinot gris to go with our meal.

The restaurant offers a small range of Vietnamese and SE Asian snacks - beautifully presented, delicious and good value.

Small criticism - we visited on a cold winter day. The temperature in the restaurant was OK but we were very envious of the fire we could see burning in the office! The restaurant has bench seating - I know this is trendy but I much prefer a chair.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John_1000010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, thanks for your great feedback. We are very lucky to be able to share our beautiful surroundings and wines with our guests. We'll take on board your comment about the bench seating and make sure our restaurant is toasty and warm on cold days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

What a classy place. Fantastic scenery, fantastic decor. Thought of everything for the comfort of their guests. Have a wine tasting - great value for money and then.....the surprise stay for a bit of lunch with an Asian flavour - dumplings, spicy chicken, cheese plate, edamame salad. Delicious and not pricey at all. Cannot wait for our next visit.

1  Thank TheReefBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie P, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you spend time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luna Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Luna Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing