We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lynn M

Couples night away

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2019
Absolutely fantastic.. beautiful gardens and decor .. Room was sumptuous and beautifully decorated.. loved the smell of the Daphne in the gardens. Everything we could of wanted was provided.. very surprising but appreciated

Date of stay: August 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kansas Villa. 1 Bedrooms Villas Bedroom
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $221
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.4 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bedroom
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    0.8 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $174
    • Hotels.com
    3.1 km from Aylstone Boutique Retreat
    Free parking
    Fitness centre
    View more hotels in Martinborough
    Reviews (137)
    Filter reviews
    137 results
    Traveller rating
    98
    29
    6
    3
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    98
    29
    6
    3
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 137 reviews
    Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

    Aylstone was a total delight! Jan was wonderful to deal with and ,as we were late arrivals, left a lovely card with instructions to our chalet.

    The room was beautifully decorated with lovely touches like the complementary bread and conserves for breakfast. It was very clean and the super king bed was so comfy!

    The views we woke up to in the morning were stunning. Quintessential Martinborough.

    Although not in the town square it was a leisurely 10 minutes to the centre of Martinborough.

    I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! It was the perfect couple retreat.

    Date of stay: May 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Katie_Friday
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

    We were looking for a one night stay in Martinborough - the room was perfect for our needs. The room was styled with a great shabby chic look and was fresh and clean. There was a basic breakfast included in the room of a loaf with butter, jams, marmalade - not extravagant but it was enough to get us started.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank P8RJB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 October 2018

    This is a lovely place to stay and I would certainly like to return - BUT I would ask if they had fixed the plumbing before booking again. The shower was abominable at three different times of day - on the gentle side but the hot water flow was brief even though the hand basin was producing plenty of hot water. I really enjoyed the loaf of bread and jams etc, but just a little quirk was that the toaster set the smoke alarm off. Friends in another room didn’t fare any better. This could be overcome by plugging the toaster into the bathroom, but I think that might be illegal!

    Date of stay: October 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank WaipukRolly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 June 2017

    I wanted to book a nice place for a long weekend - and the website for Aylstone looked lovely.
    To be fair, it was fine - but way overpriced for what it offered.
    The room was an upstairs loft - with a very small bathroom and not too much room to actually get into bed. The room itself was nicely appointed and had very nice views across the vineyards. There were also some nice touches such as the nespresso machine and some chocolate and snacks.
    BUT the room was very cold and hard to heat up properly. The bed also had just a very light quilt cover on it which meant you either had to keep the electric blanket on all night or freeze. It was also possibly the most uncomfortable bed I've slept in - very hard and I had a bad sleep, waking up due to both cold and hard mattress pressure.
    If this had been a budget motel, I probably wouldn't be complaining - you get what you pay for - but in this case, if you pay luxury hotel prices then you expect luxury hotel service and that means good quality beds and bedding - and at the very least, a duvet.
    There was no breakfast option - although you do get four slices of bread and some spreads. Again, not really what you'd expect for the tariff.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ZaraP784
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

    Simply beautiful, lots of attention to the details . Very close to everywhere. Our room has lots of beautiful furniture. Great view! Lots of candles 😍 very comfortable bed and it also has electric blanket 😍complementary breakfast and I should mention that the toiletry they use is good quality and smells lovely. Oh i should also mention that Margrain winery is just next door and after tasting all the wines in martinborough's wineries I can say that the have the best wine 😍

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Thank nimsrads
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews