We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Alfresco dining over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Huge deck for lounging and dining
Sea views from kitchen
Lounge view
Comfortable furnishings
Open plan living
Views right down the bay!
Western's Rest with council reserve beside it.
Plenty of room to relax
Awaken to superb sea views
Second bedroom
New well appointed kitchen
New bathroom
Bunk room
Alfresco dining over the sea!
Penneshaw Bay
Penneshaw beach
Penneshaw Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S997
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for four days after witnessing the slaughter of our cricket team in Adelaide. It was just what we needed to recover! The property is beautifully appointed, and everything about the place looks new and well cared for. We particularly liked the decking with the great views over the bay, a couple of times we saw a pod of dolphins splashing about. The local magpies are 'friendly' and hopped onto the table given the chance. A car is essential, or we found it so, to get to the great attractions on the island, which is really quite large! Sea-lions, NZ fur seals, and Vivonne Bay are all at the other end of the island and quite a long drive. However, Chapman River winery is just up the road to Cape Willoughby and was a really lovely visit for us, with friendly owners and great wines, and coffee-----and cake. Very highly recommended!
Wallabies found the grass just in front of the decking appealing after dark, which we loved.
A very comfortable house indeed and very good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gert S
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Western's Rest with close friends and had a fantastic time. The house is superbly located, with a wonderful view. Great quality interior and layout.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diandstu
South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Penneshaw at Western's Rest. The house has been updated with a modern kitchen, lovely bathroom and large windows to take in fabulous views over Hog Bay. The house is perfectly positioned, close enough to walk to the beach but not on display to every car that drives along the foreshore. We visited Stokes Bay for a swim and lunch at The Rockpool Cafe, this is a must do when on the Island. Cliffords Honey, Dudley Winery, Chapman River winery, American River are all worth a visit. If you feel energetic climb Prospect Hill for stunning views of the Island. We hired a tinnie from Wallaby Bob at Baudin Beach for $100, all day hire including fuel. Best investment we made, 5 Snapper, 11 whiting, a huge Flathead and numerous Tommies all caught about 600m from shore. Can't wait to book our next holiday on KI and go back to Western's Rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern decor and appliances with a terrific view
Liked least: Air conditioner did not cool bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing