We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Large new apartment to relax after touring during the day.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large new apartment to relax after touring during the day.
Lounge area with comfy chairs and views of eastern Cove seaside plus up the valley. Good views of sea and valley plus the local animals and birdlife.  Relax in comfort and enjoy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Large new apartment to relax after touring during the day.
Lounge area with comfy chairs and views of eastern Cove seaside plus up the valley.
Good views of sea and valley plus the local animals and birdlife.  Relax in comfort and enjoy.
New bathroom, with shower in bath. We have filtered rainwater supply.
Living the dream. No 7am Monday morning work commitments any more.
Outdoor entertaining deck with barbecue facilities, sea and bush views. Abundant wildlife.
Local Wallaby in the bush behind us.  Please watch out for them on the Island roads.
The locals at Chapman River.  Again just enjoy them from a distance as they are wild animals.
Sleepy relaxing time at sunset
Quiet and just enough visitors to be interesting without tour buses to spoil the day.
Pushy Pelicans when we have fish frames to give them.
The township has a new community tennis and basketball court that anyone can use near the wharf.
Just another day in Paradise.  A local sailing group - care to join us - ask how, we enjoy guests.
Island Beach is visible across the bay from our home. Great for a swim and a short interesting drive
Redbanks at Nepean Bay is only 10 minutes away.  Its not signposted but we can give you a map.
Pennington Bay is a good surfer spot.  10 minutes away too!
Pennington Bay is 10 Minutes away and you see the Southern Ocean in all its moods
Kayaking options exist for rivers like this one at Chapman River approx 30 minutes away from us.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ms_lotus
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice accommodation”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here in June 2017. The owner was out of town, but a neighbor helped with settling us in. The apartment was neat and clean. The area surrounding is peaceful and pretty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
It is a pleasure to have this accommodation for our guests and thank you for your support and good review. We do miss the Island when we have to go to Adelaide but have a good backup of friends and our neighbour enjoys looking after our guests. Its part of an old style Aussie country community.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy M
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in very cold weather, and this was so warm and hosts were so friendly and welcoming. Very well equipped with cosy doonas, double glazing and a very efficient air-conditioning.

Hosts gave us local information i.e. Friday dinner at The Shed and Sunday roast at the Hotel. The Oyster Shop and coffee shop are both a short distance away.

Would recommend for long or short stays on Kangaroo Island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
thank you for your support and we just find you cant beat local knowledge when we travel ourselves so help where we can plus put information on the internet site to help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan G
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very comfortable base from which to explore the Island. Beds were super comfy - much appreciated.”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Kangaroo Island is a very special place. It offers up sights and sounds not seen anywhere else. From the Glossy Black Cockatoos to the NZ Sea Lions and Seals. Our favourite beach was Pennington Bay and the most stunning sight was found at the Remarkable Rocks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We find Pennington Bay our pick for Southern Ocean views and only 10 minutes away from us. Its also a great spot in Summer as the rock pools and areas to sit out of the sun amongst the rocky outcrops are excellent.
Kevin & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass66...
1 review
“Cosy Accommodation”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were two couples and felt really comfortable with this home from the moment we entered. Jill next door visited to check that we settled in and brought us a cake which went well with coffee. She also gave us the tips about eating places in A/R as there are not too many. Everything worked - WiFi, TV, A/C, BBQ etc which is a good sign of a place well maintained. Plenty of appliances for cooking meals in. Is in a good central location for our day trips by car to other attractions on the island - so in summary would not even look around when we go to KI next time - Sunrise on Failie was affordable and very homely for our group. Did leave Jjll a few beers on leaving !!!!
Dean, Rebecca, Tony, Ashley

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thank you and we know we are very lucky to have Jill around to help us when we have to head over to Adelaide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vimal P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, peaceful get away!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Kevin was very helpful by providing information about the place, weather and food. Our stay was made comfortable and enjoyable as the place was set just right for us to stay.
I would love to go back and stay.
Thanks Kevin and Yvonne for making our trip memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing