We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Tearooms in the Centre of Newport”

God's Providence House
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional English Tea Room and Restaurant
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I popped in here for a drink and a quick bite to eat before exploring our beautiful island. One of the specials was a cup of tea or coffee with a toasted tea cake for £3.75. This proved to be excellent value. The tea cake was beautifully toasted and it came with plenty of butter. The drinks were fine too. Service was friendly and professional. The tea room is quite large with different rooms to eat in and so it didn't feel at all cramped. One of the things I really liked was the layout of the menu. As you read through the choices there was information on the history of the building and how it got it's name. An extra special touch was a paragraph introducing the staff which also thanked them for their hard work and contribution to the success of the business.

Thank Isle-o-Wighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really good, leaf tea! Delicious! Good choice of cake, excellent breakfast and sandwiches. Toilets a bit tired and china bit ordinary; service good with great views of the town.

Thank BabsInsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

As a resident of Newport, I have heard very good things about God's Provident House right in the heart of Newport, Isle of Wight.

A fantastic aged tea room dating back originally to the 1500s however has been renovated since then, a lovely atmosphere, an fantastically family run. Business. The staff are always friendly and smiling and Robin who owns it often pops around to see how his guests are doing, a lovely personal touch, the food is also very good and normally produced locally within the island and Hampshire.

Would highly recommend this place for anyone with spare half an hour or so on Newport looking for a decent lunch, they also have vegatarian options, and lite bites as well as being familu friendly

Always a pleasure to come here and will be frequenting once a month if possible

Keep up the good work 10/10 overall!!

Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robincrawley, Owner at God's Providence House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very very(!) much for the fantastic review. We really appreciate people taking the time to leave feedback on here and comments like this mean the world to us.
Thank you once again.

Robo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Very Unhappy
Came into the venue, do you sit do you wait??? no staff in sight!!!
We sat at a table that hadn't been cleared, followed by staff walking past our table and saying," we must clear these tables" surely the ones with new customers, no, the empty ones!!!
Sat down, four other groups came in, staff clearly saw us, ignored us started to take orders from other people, awful, just got up and walked out.
Forrest View could teach these people a few things, like "Customer Service" !!!
Highly unrecomended!!!!

    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robincrawley, Owner at God's Providence House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Apologies for your experience, we have been extremely busy of late but I do refute some of your comments. We always acknowledge and greet all our customers and the girls here work exceptionally hard.
On the day in question we had 4 coaches worth of customers come in within 45 minutes as well as our normal customers. Unfortunately we are not in a financial position to have extra staff standing around just in case. We have to staff via recent business levels. And what occurred in this day is not the norm. You have my apologies again but we employ humans not robots and perhaps a little more patience may have been in order.
Thank you.

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit here - very quaint. Drawn inside by all the lovely crocheted items in the window - so clever. Good service and lovely staff. We had cake and portions absolutely huge! Worth a visit

Thank AJChes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robincrawley, Owner at God's Providence House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. You kind feedback is very much appreciated.

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed God's Providence House also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to God's Providence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing