We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for a relaxing and romantic weekend get away”
Large tropical garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large tropical garden
Hot tub house and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Large tropical garden
Hot tub house and garden
Ralph's Spa barn
Large grass terrace
Hot Tub
Hot tub in summer house
Double doors to decking
Colour change lighting
Lounge and Kitchen
Superior fitted kitchen
Kitchen fully fitted
Newport IOW
Garden
Carisbrooke Isle of Wight
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Newport IOW
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newport, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for a relaxing and romantic weekend get away”
Reviewed 7 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My boyfriend and I had a lovely long weekend. It's a really good size. And they've really thought of everything. Champagne glasses, wine glasses (sorry for breaking one), an iron, washining machine, clothes horse, lots of hangers, home made jams and cordials, sky tv, lovely bed, salt and pepper pots, lots of pots and pans. It's the little things that make you feel at home and nice homely pieces have been added to stop the barn from feeling like a non-personal hotel.

The hot tub being in a shed really worried me, but it's really lovely and really works. Felt like a bit of a celebrity with the palm tree and my Champagne.
The mood lighting does make a little noise, but it's not noticeable unless you're listening out for it.
It seems that any bad comments people have given to the barn have been rectified. For example, there is a bread knife and place mats.

The location is good, not too far from m&s and morrisons. It's a good base to explore the rest of the Island.

It really is a great place. =) I will probably return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The hot tub, and the lovely big bedroom
Liked least: hm... I guess if you could move it next to the sea and make sure there's always lovely weather??
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2012
Hi
Thank you for realistic and honest review and do hope you come back next year .
I liked the bit you were a bit worried but ended up loving it.
Thank you
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2012
Tha'ts OK thank you so much for being so lovely
Clare x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wandering...
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Second visit - enjoyed again”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This was our second stay at Ralph's - two nights for a relaxing weekend - and once again, we enjoyed our stay.

Highlight was of course the hot tub - wonderfully relaxing. The only thing to mention here is that at 40 degrees, it was a little warmer than we'd have ideally liked, but we can imagine others being happy with this temperature particularly during the winter months.

Since our earlier stay in March 2011, and presumably also since the somewhat negative review that another guest wrote in October, there have been some updates in the living room area, including a comfortable new sofa. We enjoyed the mood lighting; we can imagine it may not be to everyone's taste but for us, it really did help us relax and was nice as we sat watching a film on the large television, with a bottle of wine. The bedroom remains very nice - bright and well-decorated, and with a very comfortable bed.

We also had good massages from Gema which added to our relaxation.

As mentioned in our earlier review, Ralph's is ideally located just outside of Newport, with all parts of the island easily reachable by car. Also, it's just a couple of minutes drive from an M&S and Morrisons should you need to get any groceries; but Ralphs is located amongst fields and hills so is very quiet.

We would also mention that Clare told us on arrival that she could be contacted at any time should we need anything; we didn't, but it was good to know she was on hand if required.

We would continue to recommend Ralph's highly, for couples or small families, for anyone wanting a relaxing break in good accommodation with the added bonus of the hot tub of course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2012
Hello
Thank you so much for lovely review and please if you do return let us know and we can turn the Hot Tub down a little for you wish you had said
Anyway we can do that for you if you return ..
Great to have met you and thank you for lovely review x
Kind thoughts
Clare and Delisle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayneandp...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Bubbles were us!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Great place to spend time with someone special, the barn has a great vibe and the spa just makes it extra special. Bubbles in the spa & bubbly in the glasses, what more can you want... mirrors on the ceiling, you've got the picture...
The barn is warm, clean and well situated for getting around the island. Go on get yourself there and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie L
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Converted barn with hot tub. Lovely but...”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

A Nicely converted former stable says sleeps 4 but would be more comfortable for a couple as the second couple have a sofa bed in the living area! The bedroom is roomy, lovely views,comfy bed and a well appointed bathroom. The living area is small we had great weather which made it easier as we were able to eat outside. The kitchen is lovely although I felt it was not well equipped (I love cooking!) Plenty of pans but the non stick was very worn!
The hot tub is a different matter it is wonderful hot and roomy great in the dark with the doors open and a glass of wine. The garden is nice but could do with a bit of weeding. The owners were lovely and welcoming and warned us if they were coming to clean the hot tub. The basket of home made produce to buy was a nice touch the strawberry jam was delicious.
I do feel that it just needs a bit of TLC to bring it back up to top notch standard.
Would I stay again? yes but without a teenage daughter who was great fun and enjoyed the hot tub but did not like sleeping on the sofa and being woken up by her parents in the morning. It was nice to find somewhere we could take the dog too.
Relaxing for sure and peaceful surroundings.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing