We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
386
233
109
36
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
386
233
109
36
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con small complex every night great holiday min walk thomson rep cleaned every morning mini disco these apartments eroski supermarket self catering rooms are basic the main strip bar staff old town kids and adults previous years
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I beg you - please don't make the mistake I made and book a holiday in this truly awful excuse for a holiday complex. The Mariner's Club is a stinking, (quite literally) decrepit old collection of run-down apartments that the locals refer to as "the one that looks like a prison". I still can't believe that a well thought of company like Thomsons had the temerity to sell me on a holiday there! If you want to go somewhere where it doesn't matter if your kids run riot and tear the place apart, then I suppose The Mariner's could be just the place for you (after all, they couldn't make it much worse!). But if you're looking for somewhere to relax in relative comfort, away from smart-mouthed, rude staff (his name is Philippe) - then try somewhere - try ANYWHERE rather than this almost derelict aberration!

Room Tip: Try upstairs - if you're very, very lucky, you might not get flooded!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinerClub, Front Office Manager at Mariner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Good morning I G,
i am very saddened to read you had such a terrible experience at our resort, we are very sorry you encountered so many issues that affected your holiday.
We are a family orientated hotel, meaning we have many children, we can´t be responsible for their behaviour, that is down to parents. Clearly we are not well suited for each other, i recommend you seek information about your next destination, travel agencies have all the details of the resorts but reviews of customers are very helpful.
I also apologize if i came up as "smart-mouthed and rude", i think i was quite calm and took in well all your agressive and abusive language towards me, i try and help every customer and find solutions to any troubles or problems, i am disappointed i couldn´t help you out.
I wish you all the best and i hope you can enjoy your next vacation.
Kind regards,
Felipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Well we are here for our second visit and have not been let down. A couple of new faces just as good as the ones that have vanished from last year.

Regina is new at the bar very good and great at helping with the Spanish.

The entertainer is also new this year, Sara is fantastic with the kids. The little one was joining in on stage within a day or two.

The rest of the staff all familiar from last year and just as happy and friendly. Even better now the side gates are locked in the evening so the only way out is through the front door. Great if you have kids.

We are still here for another 10 days until end of June 2017, any questions feel free to ask... if we don't know we can find out.

Superb place. Cannot be any friendlier.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
9  Thank Pete I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinerClub, Front Office Manager at Mariner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Good afternoon Pete I,
we are delighted to read you are still enjoying your holidays with us.
We really appreciate the time you spent writing such an excellent review towards our hard working staff and resort, specially whilst being here!!
We hope to see you for a third time next summer.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We got home a few days ago after spending such a lovely week here. We booked through thomson and got a very good last minute deal, we payed £440 for two people and it is defiantly worth more than that !
Staff: All the staff are just amazing, so so friendly and really want to help you with whatever they can. We dont have children but the entertainer was really great with the children both in the day and evening. We were more than happy to have children running and playing around us but if this isnt something you want then even out of school holidays this isnt the place for you. The thomson rep was amazing and was at the hotel a lot which was really great, he was very helpful.
Room: basic but good enough. Was very clean and the cleaner came every other day to clean and give you new towels. Beds were comfy enough, we had to push the two sofa beds together to make a double but that was fine. We were on the first floor and had a lovely view of the pool and some gorgeous tree's. We were at the very end so was quite at night time. You do have to pay for air con, i think its about 40 euro for a week and we decided that it was a bit too expensive so we slept with the balcony doors open, it felt perfectly safe.
Food and Wifi: you do have to pay for wifi which is such a shame because every other restaurant around has it for free so it did put us off eating at the hotel. We did however eat breakfast here most days ( we went self catering) and the full english was amazing and great value at $4.50. We also had a meal before we flew home which again was very nice and great value for money.
Pool: the pool area was really lovely !! Big and clean pool. Inflatables are allowed which is great! There are not that many sunbeds that have backs that you can adjust and the others are not very comfy so we did have to get up early to reserve these which is a shame. If you dont mind having a flat sunbed then there are loads available all day long.
Location: Perfect location. We didnt go into the old town but went to the port every night for dinner. Theres so many lovely lovely places to eat along the beach and at the port, which is probably about a 15 minute walk but a really lovely one. There are restaurants closer but obviously without the view. Lots of shops near by, spar at the end of the road which is fairly expensive. Eroski is much cheaper and only a 3 minute walk from the hotel so i recommend going here instead. Lidl is also close about a 10 minute walk which again is very cheap. The place isnt too far from the airport either, transfer was only about an hour.
Overall we had the best week again. Thank you for such a lovely relaxing holiday. We will defiantly be returning.

4  Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinerClub, Front Office Manager at Mariner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Zoe D,
we are delighted to read you enjoyed a great holiday with us, even though we were a good late deal we are very happy we did not disappoint you and you had a fantastic vacation.
We really appreciate the time you spent writing such an excellent review for us and the kind words towards our hard working staff, area and resort, it will be very useful for future customers seeking information about us.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We have just returned from a very last minute holiday here, We literally booked 14 hours before flying, we received a very good Half Board deal at an outstanding price, and really wasn't expecting much, but went on holiday with the view of "the hotel is just a base, we will be at the beach all day".

We where proven so wrong, for a budget hotel we were very impressed, the Studio Apartment was two sofa bed type things pushed together and a single bed for our son, we where there 3 nights and still had our room cleaned and fresh towels. The staff in reception, bar area and Sarah who does the entertainment where always friendly and went above and beyond ever single day.

The food is lovely, and you literally choose off the menu for half board, just as any other paying customer would, anything off the breakfast menu plus a glass of juice, chocolate milkshake and a hot drink.

The shops and beach are about a 15 minute walk, and has a lovely atmosphere. A taxi ride down there is about 4 euros, reception happily call the taxi for you :) We also had a horse and carriage ride back one night!

We cannot wait to return again next year, everyone including fellow holidayers are so friendly, thank you so much for an amazing holiday, see you soon!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EllieEscobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinerClub, Front Office Manager at Mariner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

good afternoon EllieEscobar,
we are delighted to read you enjoyed a fantastic holiday at the Mariner Club, we are also very happy to prove we are not only a beach base.
we really appreciate the time you spent writing such a kind and positive review towards our hard working staff and resort.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for around 8 days and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are basic but that's to be expected with the low cost. The bathrooms where really nice our room had a massive bathroom...all of the bar staff are lovely, Gina in particular was really sweet. And the entertainment wasn't our cup of tea but you could see how much effort Sarah put in and the children seemed to really enjoy it..food and drinks where really cheap and nice. 5 mins from a super market. 2 mins from spar and 10 mins from the main strip. Took us 15 mins to walk to the beach an we took a scenic route. Our rep Daniel was really nice and helpful if you needed him. The only downside to our trip was the fact you had to pay for air con as our agent didn't tell us this so we didn't bring extra money for it

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Abigayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinerClub, Front Office Manager at Mariner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Good morning Abigayle H,
We are delighted to read you had a good holiday with us.
We really appreciate the time you spent writing such a kind and positive review towards our hard working staff and resort.
We are sorry that your agent did not inform you about the cost of air conditioning, we try to include it in the holiday package but thomson does not agree so we are forced to charge for it.
All in all we are glad you had a great time and we hope to see you all in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews