We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Margareta Review”
other travellers have booked this property
View to Casa Margareta
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Casa Margareta
Open plan living / dining room Pebble garden with views through to the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
View to Casa Margareta
Open plan living / dining room
Pebble garden with views through to the sea
La Pirata beach - Los Canos
Open plan kitchen /dining area
Shower room
View to pine forest - La Brena from the garden
Sunset view from the garden
Bedroom 1 with views to the sea
Covered terrace to relax and dine
Bedroom 2
Sand dunes and kite surfing by Trafalgar lighthouse
Forest track to Casa M
Wooden sun lounging terrace to sip those cocktails
Chiringuito on Canos beach to  sip those sundowners
Caballeros at a local feria / horse fair
Barbate harbour
Conil - nearby town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Los Canos de Meca, Barbate, Costa de la Luz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth F
1 review
“Casa Margareta Review”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We chose Casa Margareta for its location away from it all which was perfect for peace and quiet as only birds could be heard in the evening. A lovely 20 minute walk to the beach along a dusty road through Pine woods. Although not every Restaurant had opened in June their was plenty of options to eat locally or a short 10 kilometres to Barbate for a huge chose of eateries.
The accommodation was ideal as everything was supplied we needed and all working well including a good shower. The property had Mosquito mesh on all windows so we had no bites. Owner Miriam & Bridgette were very accomodating and attentive to our every need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Thank you for your complimentary review and for being such pleasant and enthusiastic guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga J
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place but bad experience of the service at the end.”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in this lovely place for one week but it was not as described. The TV did not work, the table outside was a bit too small for four of us. Also, the front sliding door was very stiff and it was not mended after a complain. Overall, the location is lovely, but if you want to walk to the local nearest beach, it is a long walk - about 30min. We rented a car and it was very easy to move out and about. The owner had not checked the house before we left and promised to pay our deposit later on. After we came back home she wrote an email where she was saying that we damaged the duvet cover, a sheet and couple of her EU adapters have demolished. I was not expected that! She charged us and returned a partial deposit. I would advise to check the house that nothing is damaged straight after you had arrived as you could be charge for the same things!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Olga & Steve,
I am sorry to receive your disappointing review and would like to comment on the complaints.
Apologies about the TV but you did not say anything to us about it so we could not act on it. Happily, we have now replaced it with another one. Likewise the large sliding front gate - we didn’t know you had a problem with it as neither Brigitte nor I recall you complaining about it. This gate can be a little bit of a problem from time to time, but not one that can be rectified absolutely as it relates not just to the gate (which is for the carport and so very long ) but also the pebble surface beneath it. Pebbles can get stuck. Apologies, but this is a rural area and tarmac is not a material that is used in our immediate vicinity . Being in a natural environment is one of the pleasures of staying here and has to be taken into consideration.
Re the damages deposit, which normally is given back on departure but was held over at your own suggestion because you were leaving early. Of the €100 euro deposit , I returned € 70 euros to you after much effort and thought on my part to keep the cost of the damages caused down to a minimum, which meant not even replacing the damaged linens, but cleaning and mending them. So 30 euros in total for that and the 2 missing adapters is, I think extremely fair. Damages do occasionally occur during rentals and we try hard to locate problems only as they occur, which is why you were charged.
Re the wooden table on the terrace, I thank you for your comments about the size and am considering replacing it with a larger one in the near future.
I am very glad you found Casa Margareta and the location to be ‘lovely ’ but am sorry and agree it is unfortunate that we all had to deal with the issues above.
Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluemoon6...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in Case Margareta with our children for a week in the middle of July. We found the place easily enough following the directions provided.....do not come here without a car though unless you do not want to cater for yourself at all.....the closest road is around 2Km from the door of Casa M via the forest track.

Brigitte was available when we arrived and helped us settle in / found us anything we asked for that we did not find in the appartment / gave us good directions to do shopping and was generally very helpful.

The appartment is well appointed / IKEA furnished - everything you might need is on hand. We made great use of the small barbecue and appreciated the outdoor open terrace,

The location is idyllic in a beautiful pine forest close to many great open sandy beaches. We made day trips to Cadiz and Vejer while we were there and many different beaches were explored over the week we stayed.

The weather was VERY hot (40+ most days) and in result we were back in the appartment for lunch / siesta each day.

The really nice things about Casa are the location and most home comforts are on hand and in good order. We did not try to use it but were told there was a fault with the TV while we were there and we also had a repair man visit to repair one of our windows.

As I already stated I would not come here without a car - you have no easy way to shop and also would struggle to visit a number of the other beaches in the area besides the ones you can walk to.

We made one strong recommendation to the owner (who sometimes lives above this property and was there when we were there) and that was to provide a larger outdoor table so that a family of 4 could easily eat....we managed it but any dishes besides our plates had to be balanced on the ledge at the edge of the terrace.

One last note for any future visitor - do take a careful inventory of any damage when you arrive. We were charged 10 euros for damage to a duvet cover that we certainly never touched whilst we were there but by then it was too late to prove anything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for your comments Steve.
Please see my response to the other review from your partner......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolklb
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a beautiful garden, ideal for a relaxing beach holiday.”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A party of four 55s and over, we could not fault the spotless and modern apartment. We could walk 20 minutes to the local beach or drive to countless wonderful Atlantic beaches. Miriam and Brigitte could not have been more welcoming. A great holiday in a lovely location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing