We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
19
27
25
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
27
25
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grangefield oasis muthu membership furniture reception
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I had posted a review a couple of months ago expressing concern about being notified by Muthu Hotels (via a surprise phone call) that the Grangefield Oasis was now under a "different management company" and that it was no longer a Muthu resort and no longer classified as an Infiniti Platinum resort. This meant that, as an Infiniti member, I no longer had access to discounts on food/beverages and the "welcome pack". It did not seem to matter that I had booked the Grangefield Oasis as an Infiniti Platinum resort 9 months previously, well before any so called management change.

Confusingly, the Muthu website now lists the resort under the Muthu Grangefield Oasis (despite saying earlier that it was under different management) whilst the resort is listed as the Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis on Tripadvisor and on Google .

A real point of concern for me was what effect the change would mean in practice regarding the quality of the resort - a large number of reviews over the previous months had been very negative to say the least. However, I am pleased say that we had a very enjoyable stay in June 2018 with all of the staff, reception, pool bar, maintenance, cleaning etc. being very helpful and efficient. The shuttle down to the beach was easy to book and ran like clockwork with the drivers being polite and friendly. The resort as a whole was clean and well maintained.

I just wish that the Muthu organisation would pay more attention to keeping their Infiniti customers better informed and up to date with management changes that have a material effect on the quality and benefits of membership.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeekStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your comments. Your opinions are very important to us, as they help us improve.
We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a short three night break.On arrival we found the receptionist to be helpful courteous and friendly. In fact regardless what the other reveiws state we found all the staff to be helpful and pleasant.

Apartments are very large with adequate facilities although they really could do with an update and are showing their age.Garden and pool areas are very pleasant.

We stayed full board but don't expect a buffet .All meals including breakfast are set.Normally three choices .We were disappointed at first, but found the meals to be varied and of decent quality.

We only found two negatives ,it's in the middle of nowhere car required or be prepared to pay for taxis although they do provide a courtesy bus to the beach f.o.c.
Secondly rooms are cleaned and towels changed once a week this does need looking at .

All in all if you want to visit Mijas on a budget these apartments offer pleasant budget accommodation and all things considered I would recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We spent here 2 weeks in June 2018. Here's some of our thoughts.

- pools are nice, but often upper pool got full of leaves and bugs. Poolboy was too busy to use net on the bench to get them off. Poolboy cleaned also the pool walls with some kind of cleaner as the pools were open.

- whole place closes at 8pm which was pretty funny because people are on the holiday without an exact schedule. Pools, tennis, gym, minigolf (which was by the way homemade looking and also feeling. Reception gave us a real golf clubs to play minigolf which was funny because you can imagine playing minigolf with an driver..) good part was that all these were free of charge. Also the downstair bar closes at 10pm.

- Cleaning of rooms were every three days (trash, bedsheets (sheets weren't always changed) etc.) It's not enough for the family of four if you also cook your own meals. Cleaners also don't sweep the floors. On our visit cleaners didn't leave necessaries like toilet paper or correct amount of towels in our room. We had to go to reception and ask for them many times. From the reception we got them.

- supermarket was very tiny but price range was a normal hotel level. You can still find necessary items from it like water and something to eat. There were two bigger stores available in 2km range. Car is not mandatory but highly recommended.

- air-conditioning was included in rooms so that was a big plus.

- kitchen was small and there wasn't all necessary kitchenware. Kitchen had an oven but not oven glove. It also had pans and pots but not anything that you can mix the cookings. Nice try but things weren't completely thought.

- wifi was working great even at the apartment. Big plus.

Ok place but wouldn't book again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ChristerN231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We had some reservations following some reviews so we arrived not expecting the best. In my opinion anybody who takes pictures of their room and complains about it needs to really look at themselves in the mirror. Yes, if the is an actual problem I would get the complaint but the hotel would quickly rectify any issues without the need for a negative rating. We found our room really good, I mean it's only a base and to be honest it had a washing machine and other essentials for our week away. The bar area is great. The selection isn't going to win any Michelin stars but the food is good. Even the bat staff put on extras that aren't on the menu if the people around the bar are up for it (we had a massive paella made as more than enough people fancied it). The pool area is great and there is loads of room to relax. You can bring your own drinks as long as they aren't bottles and we didn't get any hassle from the staff for this. As the hotel isn't all inclusive for us this was great but the prices at the bar are fair and the measurements are huge (count seconds, not ml). The staff are friendly and the extras such as tennis etc are at no extra charge. If I was to say anything slightly negative it would be the distance from the shops, however if you plan ahead and get your weekly supplies in you won't have an issue. There isn't necessary much in the area however we came for a relaxed week and had exactly that. If you like walking (which we did) there is things to do on the boardwalk and there are other resorts close by but honestly we weren't bothered. The hills to the hotel are steep but we like walking. Great hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Wezaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion and assessment, we are waiting for you in the next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Had a lovely holiday here. Quiet and out of the way but perfect for what we were looking for. Free shuttle bus down to beach & back hourly. Only 20 euros for a taxi to Fuengirola. Apartment was spacious & clean with air-con in all rooms. Good wi-fi. The outdoor pool areas were lovely & kept clean. No night time entertainment but that didn't bother us. The restaurant/pool bar staff were amazing, very friendly & catered for all our needs. We felt like we had our own personal chef (who was lovely) & the food was amazing. The restaurant was run by Chiringuito El Juncal (who had another restaurant down at the beach). Couldn't fault it at all. Would definitely go back. Had the best time.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mijas Costa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion and assessment, we are waiting for you in the next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews