We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location, for Ayurveda very good. As a 4 star hotel it falls off the cliff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpino Atlantico
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Panchakarma for 3 weeks,
1: The Ayurveda and Panachakarma is of very good quality, Treatment , massage, diagnostics all excellent.
2: Food as a Panchakarma ideal fit. Restaurant operation times is limited and short. Vegetarian only what works well for me.
3: Hotel, it fits the need of Ayurveda, though the quality of the hotel is by no means 4 *, reception closed many hours, no night shift, no service in the graden or are pads ..

I'd like to mention that there is not pool or Sauna etc in the Alpine. You have to walk 5 to 10 minutes and there are not very flexible on towels etc. If you intend to go for a nice walk of the road you might find it tricky as well.

There is a facility room to sit in the evening, though you can not sit there at certain times as the room is used for presentation, and classes on Ayurveda etc.

In essence Ayurveda and Panchakarma , Yoga, ChiGong is perfect. Hotel is nicely located. People and staff are very nice. Though the service and procedures are a bit rosty and aged and need some refurbishing.

Room Tip: try to get rooms at the upper floors magnificent view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allgaeuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Beautifull vieuw to the ocean, during my stay it was peacefull and not crouded.
nice and lovely staff. The ayurveda is verry proffesional. Also the yogaclasses and QiGong. When you like to swim it is a 15 minutes walk to Galasol hotel. It's a hilly road.
I had a wonderfull time.

Room Tip: in first and second floor, seaview is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Very relaxing, unique stay in small very relaxing accommodation, rooms were good size and location. Onsite spa was lovely. I really felt I'd had a good holiday here so tranquil. Right on the edge of the island. Area roundabout was good if you like walking a bit hilly though.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Possibiliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Brilliantly situated on a cliff overseeing the ocean. Sunny in the room during midday. Excellent service, nice breakfast terrace, good choice. Very quiet and clean surroundings, the whole complex has a swimming pool, access to the sea with brilliant bathing possibility, diving etc. All kinds of entertainment at hand. Shops within walking distance.
On the negative side, getting more expensive, the soundproofing could be better in the rooms. If the sea is quiet you can hear neighbours doors closing etc,

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anveis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We have spent 12 days in Alpino Atlantico and had a very nice time. We did an ayurvedic cure and the doctors and therapists are very professional. The ayurvedic food is mostly delicious and really aided our health. Every day, a yoga or chi kung class was given and we loved it so much we have taken up chi kung classes here at home as well. Also continued to have warm breakfasts :-) We have done ayurveda before but received some of the best treatments here. The location of the hotel is superb, great views and lovely room with balcony. Staff was very helpful, they even decorated our room for Valentine's day, super sweet. All in all we had a great time and love to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.4 km away
Hotel Galosol
Hotel Galosol
#2 of 13 in Canico
350 reviews
0.9 km away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
503 reviews
7.8 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#4 of 13 in Canico
845 reviews
8.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,128 reviews
40.2 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino Atlantico

Address: Rua Robert Baden Powell | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-036, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#4 Spa Hotel in Canico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range: $275 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpino Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small, comfortable hotel specialized in Ayurveda (18 ) has 24 rooms and 3 suites with light decoration, wooden and wicker furniture, bath / WC, cable-TV with WiFi included in all rooms​, telephone, hairdryer, safe,air conditioning, coffe/tea facilities, balcony and sea view. Suites With separate living room. Restaurant with authentic Ayurvedic cuisine. Panoramic breakfast terrace with view of the Atlantic. Connected Ayurveda cure center of Birgit Moukom, with a holistic treatment concept and a team of experienced therapists who have been trained by renowned Ayurveda specialists professionally. Also Ayurvedic doctor and specialist Panachakarma from India. These treatments are individually customised after a thorough medical examination of the guest and the oils used are made according to traditional Ayurvedic recipes. Enjoy an intimate atmosphere where you can let go. Sports, diving, entertainment and other activities will take place in our sister hotel Galosol ​300 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpino Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galo Hotel Alpino Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing