We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
32
24
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
24
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min walk star hotel ayurveda balcony pools garden
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Alpino Atlantico. I loved everything; the hotel, the rooms, the fantastic view, the ayurvedic food, the very friendly people at the reception, room maids, waiters/cooks in the restaurant, and all the friendly people at the Ayurveda Centre reception, as well as the doctors and all the people who gave me wonderful ayurvedic oil treatments and Yoga/Qi-Gong classes.
Thank you very much!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank salsacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We went there with the idea to do a relaxing yoga / ayurveda vacation. Once we arrived the staff was irritated by our arrival - but ultimately found the reservation in the system. All OK and fine - we then informed that we want to do the yoga classes as we had it written in the booking confirmation. We learnt that we couldn't do the yoga in the Alpino Atlantico since this was not included in the arrangement. They confirmed that we have yoga included but only in the nearby Galo resort hotel. We would have to ask at the reception for time schedules. So off we went to the Galo resort reception to ask for the schedule of the yoga. They advised us to go to the sport desk in the basement. So that we did to receive the information about yoga classes which were already booked out by locals participating on a regular basis. Disappointing for us.
So we changed our program and did other things. At the last day we learnt that there was another kind of yoga, in the weekly program of the Galo resort hotel. Unfortunately our week already passed so we couldn't go there.
I was disappointed by the information policy of the hotel Alpino Atlantico. Everything we wanted to know there seemed to be in somebody elses responsibility - we did not have somebody guiding us through the complicated offering of the hotel (Ayurveda seemed to have nothing to do with the hotel - there are 3 types of yoga - not at all connected and nobody in charge to give you an overview). So having the impression of Alpino Atlantico being a yoga and ayurveda hotel is wrong. It is all separete and the staff keeps it this way by not informing about other opportunities. Also the sauna showed in the pictures is not the one that is included in the price - the sauna included is the one in the basement and not with the sea view. When we informed the staff about our disappointment at the check-out- the manager was called over the phone. As courtesy he was willing to give us internet for free ($5 in total) - a discount for an invoice for over $ 2000. Ridiculous!! The price was definitely too high for this lousy service - hotel is clean and spacious and food was OK, but not worth the price.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I just came back from a 3 weeks holiday in Madeira, the whole period i stayed in this hotel and enjoyed it to the maximum.
I loved staying there, its a vey nice place, well maintained, the Garden is awesome and you can lay there on some real beds and enjoy the ocean view.
There is a relax room which has an awesome view towards the ocean , it also has a sun deck too and a fire place for winter time.

The staff are all nice and smiling at you, however since most of the guests are German the staff will approach you in German even if you look more like a Portuguese than a German.
Most of them speak English, however some don't and can be unpleasant and inconvenient for non German speaking guests..

My whole impression is positive and i would recommend this hotel at any time, but I have two negative takes on the hotel which i hope the management will read my review and consider them:
First- the cleaning level is definitely not a four stars level, In best i would give it 2 stars level.. since most of hotel guests are Ayurveda gusts too then the usage of the bathrooms are more often than normal and it gets smelly and quite oily.. i mean really oily, so the need to have a PROPER daily cleaning is high, and not just a 2 min flushing and wiping type of cleaning.
Second- The policy of charging 1 euro if you need to change your towel again is a 2 stars level, one might think that one Euro is not too much (and its not) however if you are staying and paying for a 4 stars hotel, you expect 4 stars level of towel changing and cleaning, right ?

A bit more information about the hotel :
This hotel is one of 3 sister hotels (Galosol and Galomar), many of the guests staying there are also guests of the Ayurveda centre, so the style of the hotel is a bit different than other regular hotels, and you should expect a lot of silence and quietness.

There are no elevator and lots of stairs here and there, so keep that in mind if you have a big luggage,

There is a safe box in every room, however it cost 10 Euro per week to use it (again not 4 star level).

The food (full board) is only for Ayurveda guests, its vegetarian and very very very delicious food by the way, if you are not a guest of the Ayurveda centre, then you will eat regular breakfast in the hotel, but lunch and dinner will be served for you in the sister hotels.

The hotel rooms are spacious, very nice and all have balconies with sea and Garden views , so no need to worry about that.

Fitness centre is located in the main hotel Galosol which is 5-12 min walk depending on your age and speed in walking since its an uphill/downhill walk, the fitness centre is very good in a sense that its complete and not missing anything you might need if you are a gym fanatic, however most of the machines are bit old and you need to sometimes figure out how to operate them or ask someone, the mats are smelly (time to change them !) you can also get a locker and a towel from the gym reception desk.
They also have squash courts, tens tables and classes.
There is also an outdoor pool, and sauna and Jacuzzi..
It does not matter which hotel you are staying at, you have access to the fitness centre and the pools.

The surrounding area is residential (or house rentals), but there are not much to do around there unless you are in one of the sister hotels Galosol and Galomar and another hotel called Inn and Art, where they might have some night activities, but not much...
There is a tiny supermarket close by for basic needs.

If you are not an Ayurveda guest, then probably its best to rent a car (if you dare to drive) since the bus (which is near Galosol) does not come very often.
If you are an Ayurveda guest, most likely you won't have much time to go around and see the island, so best NOT to rent a car but take the offers they have in the hotels.

Room tip: If you are sensitive to noise, pick a room close to the Yoga or relax rooms (left side), the other end (near Ayurveda centre) is noisy
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Rashroush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Definitely not a four star, but still nice.

Let us start with the plus:
small hotel
all rooms have nice sea view
rooms are comfortable and well equipped
breakfast on the patio

But:
facilities (reception, pools, restaurants, fitness, etc. are not in this hotel, but in Galosol or Galomar, 400 m away. Part time reception.
rooms are small
restaurant open for breakfast only except for the Ayurvedans (kind of Yoga-foodie sect)
small rooms
poor maintenance of the rooms
noisy corridor
WiFi only in the Ayruvedan room, mostly closed....
guests have to leave the rooms at noon, so, in the afternoon, the reception of the Galosol is full of guests waiting for their plane. No courtesy room available. Showers available in the fitness club, 4 floors away.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Duveldrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Alpino Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our smallest hotel Alpino Atlantico with its sea view and breakfast at the terrace, which is targeted to Ayurveda and Yoga clients. However, as you mentioned, we would rather have suggested our hotel Galosol for a more active, sportif and wellness targeted holiday. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We have just got back from the Alpino Atlantico and found it to be a beautiful place with mostly lovely staff. We had a one-day ayurveda cure, which consisted of two amazing massages with lots of oil, and ayurvedic tea, lunch, dinner, and breakfast the next morning.

As others have said, the views are amazing and we spent the time in between massages and eating looking at the sea from our balcony. The room was lovely, and we had no complaints about cleanliness - the shower head slipped down sometimes but otherwise we were very pleased (and it was the most powerful and warmest shower we had in our time in Madeira).

The icing on the cake for me though was how the staff treated me so well for my birthday - giving my partner and I a table on the balcony, bringing out a bottle of non-alcoholic fizz (the advice from the ayurveda people was to avoid alcohol and caffeine for the day) at lunchtime, and getting a card from the manager, who came to wish me happy birthday. All complementary, and done so nicely I felt really special.

We went to the sister hotels down the road and relaxed outside by the sea for a bit, and went to the Capoeira bar that night, which was also lovely.

A perfect place to spend my birthday - thanks to the staff at the hotel and in the ayurveda section!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 12345Jenny67890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, General Manager at Hotel Alpino Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind and honest comment about your stay at Alpino Atlantico. We are really happy to know you keep this great impression about us and we are glad to know we make you feel so good with your experience.

We already look forward to welcoming you soon.


Warm regards,

David Andrade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews