We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$211
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Canico Bay(Canico)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Roca Mar(Canico)
US$127
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Orchid(Canico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
32
56
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
56
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lovely stayhotel is locatedpublic areasevery eveningrecommend this hotelseamadeirapools
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The Team at the Atlantis restaurant offer exceptional service from the moment you arrive it's simply first class!
The menu is beautifully presented, fresh Fish is of course the speciality from Sea Bream to Tuna and typical Maderian fish dishes you are spoilt for choice. The Hotel Manager David Andrade provided a excellent evening to mark our special occasion, thank you David!
We thoroughly recommend this Hotel and restaurant, our family has visited for many years and love it here!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GreenerGrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

i booked one night and the adress given for the "galomar" is the adress of the main hotel with a better looking than Galomar. Galomar is supposed to be a 3*, but it's not even a one star hotel because so dirty and old. They have 3 hotels at the same adress, but they aren't located at the same place. For instance : breaskfast is at Galo resort and not at Galomar, so you have to walk. Also you don't have any parking : just the street but very difficult. No reception at Galomar : you checkin at Galo Resort. So my room was small, old and dirty - very very far from the pictures you can see on websites so they are cheating and Galomar hasn't been refurbished for years and it was a nightmare to sleep in such discusting hotel. Also the TV is "vintage" for the 80"s and there is no wifi at all at Galomar - you have to go to Galo resort - so an awful stay and a very bad staff (i was on internet before noon at Galo resort, and the manager came to me asking to pay my bill when the checkout time was not over) Also i checked the pictures on webiste (expedia) where i booked and without surprise there was pictures from others hotels. So it's a real scam : you choose your hotel on pictures supposed to be shooted at Galomar but it was from another hotel

Room Tip: go away from these hotels - no value for money and dirty
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank platinoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The Hotel was constructed back in 1969 and rooms have been serviced ever since. But the general condition - especially the bathrooms - need a complete overhaul. The place itself is nice and offers a great view. Can be regarded as a nice hide away for some days.

Room Tip: check for nice view as some are not so good
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

I had a brilliant holiday and came home feeling relaxed and wonderful.

I was on a health and fitness package: mountain biking, trail running, pilates, yoga and lots of treatments, swimming in the small indoor pool (it was February) and lots of gym classes. The fitness trainers were really good and had enough English to teach though classes mostly on Portuguese. The hotel staff were all helpful and friendly.

There is a local bus into Funchal that takes about half an hour. The hotel offers a minibus up to the Lavada for jogging, three mornings a week. There a three restaurants, breakfast has lots of possibilities. The Capoiera (haven't checked spelling) Bar had live music three days a week and there were craft activities (though I didn't get the chance to do any).

If you really want to sit on a lounger by a pool, you can do that too. There are amenities - wifi in the public areas, a health food shop in the gym, a cash point on site and a mini market and coop nearby.

The bedroom was comfortable and had everything I needed, though the hairdryers in the gym were better.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank doublexpresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Galomar on a health and fitness break, where use of the gym and a number of 1:1 fitness tuition sessions was part of the package.
The hotel is located about halfway between the airport and Funchal, right on the coast. Rooms are spacious and clean, ours had a small balcony. The pool area is spacious and was never crowded - there's a pool at the hotel level as well as another down by the rocky cover. The weather when we were there (early June) was very bright and sunny but also very windy - and there's not a lot of protection from that wind at the upper pool. I think it might have been a little unseasonal though, so perhaps we were unlucky.
The breakfast buffet was very generous with lots of choice - there was always a lovely fruit salad and lots of different breads (also cooked buffet if you chose). My partner had a birthday whilst we were there and they dressed the table for us (a surprise!) and presented us with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco - unexpected and much appreciated. The main hotel dining room didn't appeal to us in the evening (we were there at the same time as a number of groups who were travelling half board) but there are other places to eat at the resort. We particularly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the bar area down on the cliff. We were less keen on the formal fish restaurant.
What really made our stay were the very friendly and professional fitness staff from the hotel gym - the Onda Club. We had some great tuition - from outdoor circuits, to power jumping, squash, pilates and body balance. There's also a very nice spa.
There's no wifi in the rooms, but there is wifi (a bit temperamental sometimes) in the public areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews