We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Canico Bay(Canico)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$57
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Mar(Canico)
US$133
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
1,135
489
96
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,135
489
96
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening entertainmentresident bandlovely hotelshort promenaderelaxing holidaycable carflat roofpool areafree bus to funchalcourtesy bussea viewthomson repall inclusive optionlobby barbranded drinksplenty of sunbedswaiter service
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Great breakfast, ample parking, really friendly and helpfull staff and also a decent dinner buffet (we had it one night as it was raining and we didn't want to go out to eat). The daily bus to Funchal and back is also a huge plus for data when you don't want to drive yourself viet want to explore the capital of the island.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mat271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

An exceptional hotel by any standard with exceptional staff and superb food. You would find it difficult to find fault with anything.

The staff are this hotel's biggest asset, nothing is too much trouble and the service is first class throughout. The dining room is five star standard with the waiters topping up your wine and water without being asked. The food was amazing with everything that you would expect from a Riu hotel. The meat and fish cooked in front of you at the buffet and a huge variety of salads and vegetables. Breakfast and lunch were also of a very high standard.

The waiters worked tirelessly in the bar and on the terrace to make sure that you didn't want for anything. And the evening shows were great fun with the magician the star of the week.

Don't forget the a la carte restaurant with a set menu. A mixture of fish, salad and so much meat it was difficult to keep pace.

A nice touch is the free shuttle bus to Funchal every day with fabulous views along the way.

A great way to spend the week to either chill out or go on excursions. The Maderians are lovely people and wherever you go they are polite and helpful. A stunningly beautiful island, it's no wonder people go back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mcgerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Palace in Caniço de Baixo, Madeira. The staff were great, particularly our waiter at dinner – thank you from table 138! Anya the Tui rep was very friendly and very informative. We would very much like to go again and see more of the island.
We paid extra for a suite which for us was worth every penny. As soon as we arrived home we started to think about a return visit!
We planned to book for Christmas and New Year but sadly, Tui have cut their flights to one a week and suites don’t seem to be available. Our flight was completely full and other firms were being used as there were so many passengers so we hope this situation changes in the coming months.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 891EandS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Check in was quick and easy, didn`t know about the tourist tax until then. The room was very clean if a bit old worldly, but I like that, it suits the building. The bed was big and comfy.
The staff were all fantastic, so eager to please and make sure we had a good time.
The food was the best, so much variety, spoilt for choice.
The only thing I could complain about is the smoking on the balcony in the bar, one side should be none smoking, so people who don`t smoke could enjoy the outside.
We will be back before long.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scaleytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This was our eighth visit to this hotel and we still love it. The Reception staff are so efficient and made sure we were checked in quickly. We loved the room we were given by the sea. We were impressed all week with the range of food and drink available. The waiters in the dining room were so friendly and looked after us so well. We liked the fact that each evening we had the same waiter and the same table. The bar waiters were always quick to take our order and serve our drinks. We made use of the shuttle bus service to Funchal and would recommend this to anyone staying at the hotel. We loved every minute of our week at this hotel and were so impressed with the wonderful service we received from the staff throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Would recommend a higher floor for best views.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews