We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
201
122
36
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
122
36
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantis restaurant active holiday fitness classes operations manager sea view body pump hotel guests buffet style dinner german guests excellent fitness construction site diving school walking holiday strong winds well equipped gym indoor pool room was large
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Fantastic location and superb hotel. Wonderful view of the ocean.
Rooms are spacious and very clean.
So much to do in the hotel complex, from sports activities inside and outside to spa treatments and therapies. We booked this hotel so that we could experience many sports as well as indulge in wonderful relaxation. Galosol delivered our expectations more than we dreamed!
The staff at Galosol are so friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Any queries were swiftly delt with.We have to say that Magdalena we so lovely in the restaurant, always cheerful. And as for Udo...well...he is a star! Cannot believe that he is a trainee, for he was so professional and utterly brilliant! We will miss his cheerful greetings, especially in the mornings!
Finally, we must thank everyone at the hotel for managing the situation with the wild fires so professionally. They kept the mood light for all holidaymakers, despite being worried and concerned. I hope all are safe and sound.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We really hope to return one day.
Thank you, everyone. :) x

Room Tip: sea view rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maffie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Guest,

we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to contact us.


Best regards

David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

My friend and I went for a fitness holiday to Galosol Hotel recently and we had the weirdest experience!
They claim to be a 4 star hotel and we were shocked to find out we had to pay €1.50 a day to use the safe in our room!?! Really ?!! Of course we paid the money but it is just no nice to ask for that in a 4 star hotel. The receptionists, except for two of them, where almost unable to give any informations about the area and every time we asked for something extra we promptly got a 'no' as an answer!
Our weekend package included a hiking/jogging experience in the mountains. We wanted to try to book it 2 days in advance but we were told we could only do so 24h in advance. So at 8am the day before our last day we went to reception to book and they told us we couldn't take part in the walk because it was fully booked! Apparently hotel guests book very early in the morning and nobody told us there was a limited number of spaces and that we had to book so early!
Also there were a few dead and alive cockroaches going around but overall the place looked clean.
On a positive side we loved the fitness centre, the classes and the instructors. The sauna looked nice but it was weird to see a naked man with his wobbly bits going around in it because I prefer a only women sauna. So we didn't use the spa facilities.
The restaurant by the sea was the best for fresh fish and all the waiters were extremely friendly and professional in all the restaurants of the resort.
There isn't a beach but a solarium area. Unfortunately we never managed in 4 days to find a lounge chair so we went sunbathing in the solarium area without chairs ( and not allowed to kids! ) but it was quite uncomfortable to lie down on concrete! The sea is beautiful tho.
I would not recommend to any of my friends to go to Galo resort unless the price would be as much as going to a 2 star hotel, because it has nothing of a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank sunshinepao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all, I apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay.
We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed. At the moment our safes are not included in the room rate, for the following year we have already included in our room rate. Concerning the hicking activity its only possible to book at the day before due to the number of available seats, and also that we treat equal all guests, so it’s not possible to book in advance. In light of this, we have decided that we will inform better at the moment of check in all of our guests.
We also note your feedback on reception services help us to understand that we will begin a new training course to our staff.
we have high cleaning standards at the hotel and public areas. Despite our regular disinfection actions here in the hotel, unfortunately this sometimes does occur in a subtropical climate. In case of problems, our staff always strive to find solutions - as far as we know about it.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. We certainly do not wish to lose you as a valued customer. I am confident that a future visit to our hotel and will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction.

Best personal regards

David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Quiet and nice rooms, good breakfast, and excellent service. The hotel has a very good location close to the sea, as well as a pier (accessible either via stairs or an elevator) from which you can go swimming. There are also outdoor and indoor pools.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your kind words and support. We hope to maintain our good work.

Best regards

David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Sisters trip with a 7 year old boy, so much to keep everyone happy. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of variety. The staff were all super friendly and accomodating. Rooms were comfortable & clean. Excerise classes were to a very good standard & the snorkelling was very professional, safe and fun!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caitriona199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and for your stay. We appreciate your kind appreciation of our staff, breqkfast, location, room and classes. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards

David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Cant thank you enough for making our holiday in Madeira so memorable. Location was perfect food was great and the staff were brilliant. Room was spacious, spotless, and well equipped with great view of the sea. A special thanks to Nicole Fettle for the help she gave as within our stay. We would highly recommend the Galosol to family and friends. Thanks again

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mjohns_231349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Guest
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your nice feedback.
We would also like to thank you for choosing Galosol Hotel for your recent stay in Madeira Certainly we have passed this on to our staff.
It will be great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely yours,

David Andrade
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews