We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
59
238
218
89
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
238
218
89
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscristo reiadjacent roomscapital funchalcleaned dailybus stopclean hotelstayed for one weekyogurtbit datedsmall pooltea coffeemobility problemschoice of foodhalf boardevening entertainmentpoolssea
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We chose the Dom Pedro hotel in Garajau to be close to friends that live in Madeira. The transfer from the airport took about 20 minutes which was ideal. The hotel itself is a little dated and could do with some redecoration and minor alterations but our room was very clean and spacious enough for 3 of us. Our room had a lovely view of their immaculate gardens by the pool. The grounds are beautifully maintained with 3 fantastic pools to choose from. 2 outdoor including an infinity pool and an indoor pool. Breakfast was continental but plentiful with a choice of breads, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. The hotel layout is a little strange having to walk back out onto the main road to access your room in certain blocks. The biggest downside for us was the lack of air con in the rooms which made it rather uncomfortable in 30 degree heat! The hotel bar was great value with cocktails for €3.50!
Garajau itself is a nice small town with a handful of good cafes and restaurants. Dom Pao in particular does great coffee and cakes. We had dinner in most of the local restaurants. The only one we'd say to avoid at all costs was California which served me raw chicken and the quality of their food overall was very cheap and poor. Polo cafe was lovely although a little pricier than some other local restaurants, but their fillet steak was amazing. Frango da Guia was also very good and Espada na Pedra was our favourite place for an evening drink outdoors.
We ventured out into Funchal a few times as the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Worth the trip down those windy roads!
We also visited the pebble beach at Reis Magos via the local bus which was beautiful and the statue of Cristo Rei was only a 10 minute walk away. Overall we enjoyed the Dom Pedro hotel but the air con situation needs to be addressed before we'd consider returning in summer.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

For the money we paid, this hotel offered beautiful gardens,a choice of three different swimming pools, ample sun loungers, a large, clean room with balcony, helpful staff and an attractive and comfortable reception area and lounge where on one night there was excellent musical entertainment. Breakfast could be busy but there was a range of breads, cereals, yoghurt, cold meat and cheese, scrambled egg, fruit and Madeira cake on offer. Perhaps one downside was that , depending on which block your room is in, it may be a long walk to the dining room and reception area.i

Room Tip: Perhaps the block nearer reception?
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel even shouldn't have one star:
- old, as a best example are 15 years old not working TVs
- every single day the same food for breakfast, generally not tasty food
- no WiFi in room. Indeed there's WiFi in reception, but its' quality is so poor, that we had to buy portugese SIM card with internet to have connection with family
- door between our and neighbours room. I know that it's common in southern european countried, but this door is so thin that we can hear our neighbours whispering, so you can imagine how we have felt when neighbours made a drinking party after midnight
- everything is dirty, there's no plate, spoon, fork neither knife. Nothing, only useless broken old TV
- Madeira has tropical weather with lots of mosquitos after sunset. We have no mosquito net, so only way not to be eaten by bugs is to close balcony door and lose only source of fresh air and oxygene or cover balcony doors with huge and heavy curtains which also block flow of the air
- no ventilation in bathroom
- during weekend pool was closed for hotel guests because it was rented to some locals for pool party

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Piotr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Put up here 1 night as flight was cancelled.

This hotel is not suitable for people with children or the elderly. It's worse than a hostel inside the rooms.

Carrying luggage to reception which is a faff then back out and 200 metres up the hill to the rooms, where to get in you needed to climb about 7/8 steps with a small doorway entrance.

no lifts in these buildings either/ not suitable when carrying luggage, pram and children. Rooms are shabby, dated and dirty. balcony is unsafe for children, the door doesn't shut properly either. the fridge looked disgusting, no kettle provided.

you needed to go through reception to get to breakfast which was located downstairs and there was No lift here so impossible if you have a pram or in wheelchair. food not great either, tasted awful. staff un-helpful, couldn't be bothered, and looked really moody and were moody when talking with guests.

put it this way, I wouldn't let my dog sleep there.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We stayed there for just two nights as we had a short break we will for sure not go back. The hotel has a very tired feeling , walls falling apart , blanket with hairs and just a TV which we never used. Bar was closed in our pool and water or drinks were stored on the table as there was no fridge. There is a good connection to funchal with a bus stop just opposite the hotel but no direct bus to the airport so we had to walk downhil to arrive as a taxi will cost you arround 30 euro . The good thing was the friendly staff at the reception but no information was given on what we can do at the aerea or what to see and not even tried to sell us any excursion but when we asked they happily provide information needed. breakfast was just basic and the same without any single change. pool is good but no internet connection at all.

Room Tip: no internet , no views just cheap
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews