We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
20
3
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
3
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I was hesitant based on a prior review. But I took a chance and it paid off. The owner and his wife are super friendly (I stayed at the "older" residence). They gave great recommendations and patiently answered all questions including a history of the place. The breakfast was good and room was very big and clean. Very happy with this stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Guy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I arrived at the property around 20:30 no one was at the property the place looked deserted but the front door was open. I entered and looked around for someone and shouted 'Hello' to let anyone know there no answer. I went back outside and noticed 2 names & phone numbers on a sheet of paper stuck to the front door. I surmised that I should call them which I did. A man answered and told me he was Luciano the owner and went on to inform me that he was at his other property and that my room would be there and that he would be down to meet me in a minute, Approx 5 minutes later he turned up and told me that I should go to his other property, no reason was given to me as to why I should go to the other property. It was obvious that the decision to move me was not made that day and I asked why he did not make an effort to contact me and let me know that I would not be staying in he property I booked. He replied that he was sorry but he didn't understand my question as his English was not that good. I made it clear that If I wasn't going to stay in the property that I booked I would be leaving. He was not particularly happy about this but eventually showed me 2 rooms that I could use. I decided I would stay and picked one. He then told me that I must go to the other property for breakfast and to pay the bill and that he had already moved one guest to the other property. He then told me that and told me that the key to my room was in the door to my room and If I wanted to go out getting back into the building would not be a problem as the front door was always left unlocked. He then told me that he was returning to the other property and left. When I returned to my I noticed it room it was very cold presumably because the heating had not been turned on as they were not expecting anyone to stay there. I proceeded to settle into my room Then after about 10 minutes of complete silence I heard voices and It was clear that some people had entered the property and this made me somewhat uncomfortable as I was assuming I would be the only person in the property. I made sure I locked my door. The voices continued for a few hours and then there was silence again and I finally felt safe enough to go to sleep. Luckily there was enough bedding to keep me warm. I was awoken at 6:00 am to the sound of banging reverberating through the stone and tiled property after some investigating It appeared that the wind had picked up and something perhaps on the roof was being blown around and was hitting the structure of the building. I tried to get some more sleep but was unable to for an hour or so until I decided to put on headphones to block out the noise. I finally got a couple more hours of sleep. When I rose I went to the other property to pay my bill. I skipped breakfast because I did not feel comfortable about staying any longer and wanted to get as far from the place as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Great Views from Balcony
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HossUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We have been in Italy and Sicily for 5 weeks now, stayed in many different hotels, bnbs, and pensione. This one sure was the winner of all. Friendly like family. The owner, his friends (staff), and Tonya (?) are all genuinely friendly people. We got quite lost outside Piazza Armerina because of the Garmin gps and the phone wasn't working. For an hour, we drove around and around the countryside and couldn't find the bnb. We were helped by 2-3 different parties who couldn't speak English and we couldnt speak a word of Italian. People in this town are just blessed with God given kindness. They literally guided us to the bnb on their scooters. Where on earth you can find people like that? A thousand thanks to those strangers who helped us!!
So, upon arrival, we were hot, tired, hungry, and frustrated. However, the friendliness of the host, the spacious room, the panaromic view, and much more did make it all worthwhile .
The room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. All the rooms are upstairs. There was a huge living room downstairs with TV, couches, sofas, and terrace. The kitchen was stocked with water, coke, and wine. We asked about the water, the host said everything in the fridge is for our to use, he said "my house is your house". We only stayed for one night so we only used the water.
The breakfast was something else. An array of prosciutto, ham, sausage, cheese, bread, and popping hot croissants - plain, chocolate filled, apricot filled. The bread was also fresh. Freshly brewed (individually for you) coffee, you can also asked for cappuccino if you wish. I am usually not a breakfast person, but I sure filled up myself. I just couldn't resist all the freshly made food. On top of this, we were having breakfast facing the panaromic view of the whole town on a hill.
I sure wished I could stay longer, may be next time.
Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank midwestretireee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This is a modern building and the sister B&B to La Casa sulla Collina del Oro; same owners/management and a couple of hundred metres apart. The construction is similar to most modern Mediterranean buildings with tiled floors which can be very echoey and although I expected this I still found it a bit much as there are factors beyond the hotel's control; local dogs that yap and bark, cockerels that crow before dawn and other guests clattering and chattering as they come in in the wee small hours that disturb the peace of the night.
However, if you're not a very light sleeper then there are redeeming features:
The view of the Duomo from the rooms at the rear is fabulous, the rooms are large enough and the bathrooms clean and fully functional. Beds were comfortable and bedding warm against the mountain air.
We visited in mid-April, still in low season and breakfast was ample around the enormous 'family table' at the sister property.
We felt this B&B offered fair value for money and a convenient location, just off the Piazza Armerina Sud junction of Stada Stradale 117 bis, it is in a residential neighbourhood and I was very glad I had printed out the Google Map at large scale or we'd never have found it. Once you have found it it takes 2 minutes to access the main road and be on your way for the day. There is also a large 'Deco' supermarket and an Agip petrol/gas station at the highway junction too, which we found useful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have the view of the Duomo and shade, rooms at the front have countryside views and a sunny aspect.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wideawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews