We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Messapia Hotel & Resort(Santa Maria di Leuca)
US$165
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hotel l'Approdo(Santa Maria di Leuca)
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Del Santuario(Santa Maria di Leuca)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Albergo 2 Mari(Santa Maria di Leuca)
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Santa Maria Di Leuca(Santa Maria di Leuca)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mareincantato Bed & Breakfast(Santa Maria di Leuca)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corte di Leuca(Santa Maria di Leuca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
B&B Villa Ines(Santa Maria di Leuca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terminal(Santa Maria di Leuca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
63
28
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
28
3
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

After our first Airbnb failed to meet the standards, we found the Montiro in a last minute search. The pictures looked great, but they really do not tell the whole story. After check in you are driven in a golf cart to a collection of casitas where the rooms are located. A very pleasant muted color scheme, a good mattress and a great shower hit all the right notes. The pool in the middle of the olive grove is a great and despite the hotel´s small size, it has all the services one associates with much larger properties - from pool bar to fancy restaurant.

The staff are incredibly friendly and the cost of the room was a third of similar properties we stayed at. A great find!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Pietroibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Beautiful place just outside Santa Maria di Leuca. Small but very clean infinity-pool. Very friendly staff, helpful with tips on where to eat, places to visit, best beaches to go to in the area. We will definitely go there again when in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominikD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The hotel installations are generally quite nice. The setting is beautiful, the pool is nice to have, the breakfast was diverse and of good quality and most of the staff was friendly. However we were very disappointed when we encountered a problem with the room and their response was so poor.

We stayed there 2 nights (13-15 August). The first night the electricity in our room started to fail. Every 30min or sometimes after 1 hour the electricity would go away for some seconds or sometimes minutes. This should be fine while we slept but the problem was the loud "click" when the electricity would come and go plus, even worse, the light coming from an emergency light. These 2 were enough to wake us up several times and give as an awful night sleep. The next day we told them what happened. We were very comprehensive and didn't get angry. The girl at the reception was nice too and she changed our room card (to see if that solved the problem) and also said a technician would check the room to make sure it didn't happen again.

However, they mustn't have done a proper repair job because we found the same problem the second night and the frequency at which it occurred was higher (about 15 times). We barely got any sleep, which is the minimum you want in a hotel. In the morning we told them what happened before and their only response was that a technician would go check it (too late as we were checking out). We felt they didn't care about what happened and the only compensation they offered was to remove 2 drinks from the pool bar. For the amount we paid (more than 250eur per night) we didn't find our hotel expectations met (the minimum being able to sleep!). The quality you would normally expect in a 4 star hotel was not the same we found in their service when solving an important problem.

I would say that if you are lucky not to encounter any problems you can have a good time in this hotel, but unfortunately this was not the case for us and we found the quality of their service when solving problems was very low. Other things you might want to consider is the wifi signal is very bad (couldn't use it at all) and the room had a high level of humidity (making the air heavy). As other guests have said the hotel is quite new and they seem to have some issues they need to solve to reach a good quality level.


A "fun fact" is that minutes after we left the hotel they cancelled our Booking reservation making it impossible to write a review for the hotel on their website.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theg00dguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montiro, Proprietario at Montiro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear guest,
We thank you for having stayed at Montirò Hotel and appreciated our strengths: Excellent quality breakfast with fresh products and baked products daily; The kindness of the staff and the beauty of our property with a pool surrounded by nature where it is possible at 19.45 to enjoy a spectacular sunset.
For the emergency light technical problem, we are very sorry.
I want to point out that, as I told you, the first day we tried to solve the problem immediately by changing both the card and sending a technician. The problem for us was solved so much that guests after your stay did not find the problem.
The next day, on departure day, during PRE check-out you came to the front desk (before breakfast) complaining of the same problem. On that occasion, as with all our guests, we have taken all the attentions of the case.
Your stay of 2 nights with a cost of 255 € per night purchased through Booking.com with a non-refundable rate, was not subject to change. So that by understanding your discomfort, we have deleted the extras used in Hotel.
Thank you for your choice.

Montirò Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We did not enjoy our stay at Montiro. Looks to be still under construction. Terrible wifi in rooms and around pool / restaurant. The food and fruits are tasteless, when you order a buratta you get a mozzarella.
The service is not great neither.
Rooms are comfortable but that's pretty much it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SoCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montiro, Direttore generale at Montiro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hi Dear

Sorry that you did not enjoy the stay in our hotel as most of our customers did.
Regarding the wi-fi, as our hotel is immersed in the natural park, the reason we are also chosen, we try to guarantee the maximum service even knowing that there may be small limits.
Regarding the fruits and food every day we buy products at zero km.
Our service is praised by all of our customers but we will try to improve again.
Regarding the differtent between Burrata and Mozzarella , sometimes they are confused because they are very similar.
Also our hotel has been completed 1 year ago, so you do not have to confuse the maintenance work with extraordinary work.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed in Montirò Hotel in mid July. The place is new and still in the works (but just a few details left).
We were upgraded on arrival which was a nice surprise. The rooms was quiet, spacious, clean and had everything you needed.
The breakfast was mainly pastries and cakes done in their "pastry laboratory"; although eggs and other plates were prepared upon request.
The very nice staff was always available for any request.
A corner of peaceful Paradise in Puglia.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NadimNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews