We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
251
213
59
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
213
59
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel boiled eggs good size within walking distance minute walk receptionist grove shampoo
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We spent 10 nights at the Olimpo and enjoyed every moment. Our stay was B & B and found the accommodation met all our needs. The hotel was kept spotless from top to bottom by a staff we hardly ever saw. The breakfast was ample and a varied choice we found any extra requirements dealt with swiftly and courteously, at busy times the dining staff were given willing support from the reception who were always on hand to give help and advise about local and regional places of interest a great team and a joy to know. On evening dining Alberobello offers some of the best in Italian food we have experienced and we took full advantage of that including three nights at an associate eatery The Grand Olimpo in the village. Tourism is high on the agenda in this area I hope it retains its charm at least till we get back.

Room Tip: A room with balcony an advantage
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graememclean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo C, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Olimpo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

The staff of the grand hotel Olimpo is delighted with your liking and we hope to see you again soon. Greetings and happy summer 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

On our journey around southern Italy day number 8 and hotel number 4. This was the most expensive hotel for us at 2 nights for 260 Euros.
First impressions were not good. At the hotel reception the man registering was not that friendly. He showed us to our room which was basic. View outside was a wall. There was no instructions for wi fi or meal times so after he abruptly left us I called down to ask, again very abruptly. We decided to go down for a drink could not find a bar, but two coach loads of people being shown into the dining room. We did ask the receptionist for recommendations for somewhere to eat. He was quiet helpful and showed us a map on how to get into the little town of Alberobello. We had a lovely meal and short stroll round the town. Next morning we ventured downstairs for breakfast. The times were 7.30 to 9.30. We got down at 8.45 am after the coach loads has left. The breakfast was appalling, nothing was covered and it was all dry. The bread was hard meats warm cakes dry. We spent a lovely day in Alberobello had a lovely lunch in a small deli. Next day we went down for breakfast at 7.45. My husband went looking for a hard boiled egg they were all gone but the restaurant manager offered to prepare one for him. We waited in the mean time the coach driver came in the manager was fussing around him and gave him the hard boiled egg he had prepared for my partner. We did not wait but left the restaurant. We got our bags and left. The lady on reception was very nice. This hotel has lots of coaches . But they forget about their couple guest. Would Visit Alberobello again but would stay elsewhere maybe in one of their little house.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo C, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Olimpo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

we are really happy that you liked alberobello and the friendliness of our staff ... we have difficulty in understanding your comments on the rooms with the wall and we have difficulty in understanding the comments on breakfast because it is full of homemade desserts and many others delights. However we are always happy with the fact that Alberobello liked it and we cordially greet you deepening the details of his review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The room was simple, but more than adequate and had a small balcony - we slept well.
The location is good in that although it was only a 10 minute walk to the town proper (and the trulli houses) it felt like being in the countryside.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a little disappointing in that although there was an enormous range of sweet things, there was not a lot by way of 'non-sweet' things, and the only hot food was boiled eggs which had to be boiled specially. However it was no big deal, and overall we were very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnlatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGHO, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Olimpo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Siamo contentissimi che vi sia piaciuto il nostro servizio e la nostra cortesia. A presto dallo Staff del Grand Hotel Olimpo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Good hotel with plenty of free parking within walking distance of the Trulli of Alberobello. Decent beds and bathroom although slightly worn (not gross) but clean. Breakfast was enjoyable and included in price. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlainJane1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoGHO, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Olimpo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for the good evaluation and we look forward to seeing you in Alberobello in Puglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

But I am giving it two stars because it can always be worse. There were no cockroaches. Otherwise there isn't really anything to commend the place. 

The beds were uncomfortable. 

Breakfast was inedible (really inedible; stale pastries, old eggs). 

Checkout is obscenely early for a hotel, 10am. 

The idea that this is a "4 star" hotel is a joke. I've stayed in more luxurious youth hostels. 

If reception had been friendly, maybe the stay would've been less awful. Reception wasn't friendly. 

The icing was that my kids were given a bunk bed and the ladder literally fell off the bed. So there were no cockroaches, but it was hardly safe. 

To say it was the worst hotel we stayed in during our time in Puglia is a great disservice to the other hotels. It wasn't just worst, it was 100 times worse. 

Really really bad. 

Don't stay here. 

Don't tell your friends to stay here

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo C, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Olimpo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Sarebbe bellissimo sapere in quale hotel siete realmente staIt would be great to know in which hotel you have been. Looking at the other reviews you are a jarring span in a violin concert. we do not understand but anyway, in a cordial way, we wish you every best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews