We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the climb to Pontone”

Ristorante San Giovanni
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 17/10
20:00
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Scala
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Was it the tiresome climb of 750 steps from Amalfi up the mountain to Pontone? Maybe, but the kind service and stunning view on Ravello was undeniebly worth it. Let alone the tasty anti-pasti and delicious risotto. This little family restaurant is well worth the climb. The clientelle excists of blingbling Americans, Italian locals and hikers. A weird mix but it works. And everybody enjoys their meal..and the view.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bnbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stopped in Pontone for lunch after enjoying a beautiful walk up from Amalfi. We came across this restaurant and it was the perfect stop - stunning views from which you could see Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, wonderful food and welcoming staff. Simply wonderful!

Date of visit: April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NayLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I recently ate at Ristorante San Giovanni right before Christmas (2010) and had the best gnocchi I have ever eaten in my life! Please check out my entire review of the restaurant with photos on my blog: http://www.destinationsperfected.com/search/label/Ristorante%20San%20Giovanni

Date of visit: December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alexandradf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ristorante San Giovanni also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.