We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
52
31
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
31
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhein hotel the river great view of the castle the owner train noise gluten free room downstairs provide ear plugs easy access would stay again lovely hotel old building first stop town wall family run per night local wine
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel is simple but good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had the dinner included and everyday we had a chance to try different local food and it was very nice.
The town is very charming but it is completely dead at night
Overall a very good place for rest and relaxation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Chagoihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This hotel, located along the old town wall in beautiful Bacharach, Germany, provided a great first stop on our recent trip to Europe. The staff was very welcoming and made sure we were well taken care of. The front of the hotel is along the train tracks, which can be a bit noisy, but well-insulated windows do a lot to cut down that noise. Our room was in the back, overlooking the town and old chapel ruins. The boat dock for Rhine River cruises is just across the street. The restaurant was also a very good option for dinner as well as breakfast with fellow travelers. We would love to go back again and spend more time!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 479DeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We spent two nights in this lovely little town and absolutely loved our time. The hotel is located just down the road from the train station and steps from the KD dock. Our hotel room was very bright, lovely, and extremely clean. The hotel proprietors were friendly and helped us plan our time in Bacharach. A few of the hotel employees speak English. The wifi signal in our room was excellent. And we had a lovely view of the castle. There was a good variety of meat, cheeses, fruit, baked goods, and cereal at breakfast each morning. Our only complaint is that the sleep quality was less than ideal. We were located just at the top of the stairs and got quite a bit of noise from hotel and restaurant guests outside our room. The trains didn’t disturb us at all. They were just a quiet rumble.
We ate at the restaurant on the first night of our stay and found the food to be excellent!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We stayed at the Rhein Hotel on the last night of our vacation and had a lovely stay in a family apartment overlooking the river. Although the trains passed by the windows frequently, we didn't hear a thing with the windows closed. The room was comfortable and well-appointed, combining old-fashioned character with modern amenities. They made excellent use of space -- there was even a sauna in the room, although we didn't use it The only drawback of the room was that the tub/shower /sauna area is completely enclosed in glass and is totally exposed to the rest of the room, so it affords no privacy and also can disturb your family members if you turn on the lights in there while others are sleeping.

The town is small but charming, and my husband and I enjoyed a hike up to the castle with our toddler before returning to the hotel for an excellent dinner at their restaurant.

Bacharach is only about an hour's drive from the Frankfurt airport, so it's a perfect place to stay the night before an early afternoon flight. We're very glad we finished our vacation on a high note!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank l0lita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Rhein Hotel for 2 nights this past June and really loved it! It is a family run establishment, the current owner/chef was born in the building. And his maybe college-aged served us at dinner (there was other staff of course). We really appreciated the friendly and helpful workers, and enjoyed our castle view room. The rooms are fairly small, but they have large, comfortable beds and are well appointed. They have tried hard to maximize space and it was great. The town is small but charming,and is the perfect choice as a home base on the Rhine. We took a cruise up the river, toured nearby Rheinfyls castle (and walked up to Bacharach's castle) and borrowed the hotel's bikes to ride along the river for a while. (no extra cost)
But the favorite part of our stay was having dinner one night overlooking the river. The food was fabulous, and I will not soon forget the desserts especially. Stay here and treat yourself to gourmet food on the Rhine! (who knew?)

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews