We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun to stay in the heart of Bonnieux”
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Not a bad view from the balcony! Shared pool - with steps and shallow area for children
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Breakfast with a view! From your private balcony....
Not a bad view from the balcony!
Shared pool - with steps and shallow area for children
Stunning views from this apartment
The pool - heated in June and Sept
An historic building in the heart of the village
Pool and area for relaxing
A view across the pool
One of the living/dining rooms - there are 6 apartments in the building
Local vineyards...
A misty Autumn morning
Reserved parking spaces for guests
Local, fresh produce at the village market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bonnieux, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophiagoe...
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun to stay in the heart of Bonnieux”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the largest suite in the Gendarmerie - it has three bedrooms, two with king beds and one small room with a bunk bed. The living area is spacious, and there is a nice shady balcony. The kitchen is small, and could have been better equipped (only one tea towel for a week...). There are 2 salles de bain (one with two sinks), but only one toilet. There could be better on-property maintenance for a building with several suites - for example, one washing machine and one of the driers was broken and remained so all week. Wifi was not strong, and didn't work for a few days (we went up the hill to Terrasses café to log on). The pool area was nice, and the location in the centre of town was wonderful. Checking in and out went smoothly, and dealing with the booking agent online was great - Helen was accessible, and patient with all our questions and concerns. We enjoyed setting out each day to explore nearby villages and the beautiful countryside - also, the Friday morning market in Bonnieux is great! All in all, we highly recommend this property for a wonderful Luberon hoiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of on-site manager
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJimW
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in an excellent apartment in Bonnieux”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in the Old Gendarmerie 2. The apartment had two bedrooms a bathroom separate toilet small workable kitchen and a good size lounge area. There was also a balcony. Parking was provided. We could walk a few metres from the front door to a bakery and 100 m to a small well stocked supermarket. The village is in an excellent position to explore the many villages of the Luberon valley and to go further afield to Aix and the Gorges of Verdun. The booking was seamless. I found an excellent company on the Internet, http://www.jdvholidays.com/ who I booked through. They were prompt and friendly with my email requests. I was able to pay electronically to an Australian account which saved money conversion and fees. The information they sent on final payment of the region was very helpful. I would thoroughly recommend them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The beauty of Bonnieux from your bedroom window”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

As huge fans of Provence, and particularly the Luberon, we were looking for a property in the heart of one the region's most fabulous villages, Bonnieux. The Old Gendarmerie did not disappoint. It's a fascinating old building full of fascinating features from the impressive front door, with peep hole, to the original stone stairs leading to the apartments. Despite a great deal of modernisation, the building loses none of its charm. We were on the top floor, which was worth every step given the stunning views that being up high brought with it. Every room was comfortable and well equipped. The TV in the lounge had all the Enlgish channels (and plenty besides) which was great for keeping the kids happy, while the kitchen was cosy but again well kitted out with a dishwahser. Despite being in the centre of Bonnieux, the thick walls of the building meant noise was not an issue. Instead, we were perfectly placed for the local boulangeries, restaurants and cafes, while all the other attractions of the area are righto on the doostep. I would thoroughly recommend the Old Gendarmerie to all ages. The owners kindly left the pool open even though it was late October, but we were not brave enough to take a dip. However the pool area is lovely, with lots of seating. Overall, a perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H
Waikanae, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2nd visit, still the best of our trip to Europe !!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Once again, the BEST accomodation we encountered on a trip to Europe, all the family voted it Number 1, couldnt fault it on anything. Reccomend it to everyone and would definetly return. In the heart of Bonnieux, metres from bakery etc in a beautiful village. The apartments are beautifully appointed, but have retained the period features, pool enjoyed by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, views, pool, location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachboun...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, historic building in a superb location within the lovely perched Luberon village of Bonnieux”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Gendarmerie provides an excellent location for easy access in and out of the charming village of Bonnieux. A convenient, private parking spot is provided for each apartment. Morning pain au chocolat is a 90-second walk to the boulangerie--easy to return "home" with breakfast before the coffee has finished brewing! The unit is well-equipped for all we needed for the week. The pool and patio area were lovely. Beautiful wooded and village views abound. We've stayed in Bonnieux before and I think this is my favorite location so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location, lovely building
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing