We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
35
72
23
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
72
23
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skiers kettle apartment cycle base luz
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days with the family. Place was a good base for doing various activities and eating out in Luz. The staff was very helpful in organizing the activities and the pool was a big plus for our boys. The appartment was fine, but it is true self-service.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kjelgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline C, Responsable réception at Domaine Du Val De Roland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour Kjelgaard, Roskilde, Danemark

Merci pour votre message, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour dans notre résidence Val de Roland.
Nous espérons pouvoir vous revoir lors d'un autre séjour sur Luz Saint Sauveur
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights during June as a part of a trip to cycle the Pyrenees. The accommodation itself was average and perfect for a group of men. I wouldn’t recommend bringing your significant other. There was plates, cutlery, microwave, kettle and electronic job so you could cook away perfectly. There was no air con or WiFi in the room. It’s about a 5min walk into town so the location was excellent. The staff were great. The pool was grand for a dip in the evening and the scenery is stunning. There is free parking at this location. There is no restaurant or bar on the premises. The room was clean. I’d recommend as a trip for a group of men heading away cycling.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dean182ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Booked and stayed for 4 nights. Not impressed with many things. We have stayed at better youth hostels for less cost. Bedroom barely fitted a double bed, had to make bed and strip bed at end of stay. Had to hire towels for 5 euro each, towels were small and had been washed to death and were marked. They wanted 50 euro at end of stay to clean unit so we chose not to cook in unit and give it a quick clean ourselves. No tea towels or washing up liquid provided for breakfast dishes. All the above should be included in price. We even had to empty our rubbish bins and place in larger bins half a mile away. The only redeeming feature was a view from the window but not the stinking cigarette smoke that drifted through our bedroom window from smokers from above veranda. No wifi in unit......could go on.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fattyre2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline C, Responsable réception at Domaine Du Val De Roland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Good morning,
I'm sorry that you didn't had a pleasant stay in the residence.
In a residence, you have apartment where you have sheets included but not the bed made because we are not an hotel. But you can pay for that . Also, in a apartment, you have to clean it when you leave but if you don't want to do it, you can pay for that. In effect, we are not an hotel. It's the same for the rubbish.......About the towels, if they were marked, all you had to do was to return them to me to exchange them.
Well, I think you did not rent what you looked for, that is a hotel where you included everything (beds made, the cleaning, etc.) what I invite you to pay attention for next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Having visited where my friends were staying not far from this place, I was surprised to see that they had fully equipped and comfortable apartments and they paid at least £100 less than I did ( plus I had to pay for the bathroom towels and buy wine bottle opener and tea towels and loo rolls...etc); and had to either pay about £50 for cleaning before leaving or clean it myself after buying the necessary stuff to do so whilst my friends had a cleaner every other day included in the price!! Not impressed and certainly don't recommend it. Also, don't be fooled by the pool and sauna as the former is too small and packed with people ( mostly kids) and the last was switched from 4pm to 7:30pm, hardly worth ( I suppose great timing for the skiers only).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saralegrand50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline C, Responsable réception at Domaine Du Val De Roland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Good morning,
You booked an apartment confort for 6 persons by expedia instead of an apartment for 5 persons (because you were 2 ). it's normal that you paid more expensive for an apartment confort ! But you have visited an apartment for 5 person during your stay and I suggered you to contact expedia to change apartment to pay cheaper but you made nothing !!
You rent an apartment for fews days, it's not an HOTEL ! You have the sheets included but not the towels as it write on expedia ! If you don't want to clean the apartment, you have to pay an extra, a forfait for the cleaning : it's normal !
I think it will be better for you to go in a hotel the next time if you want towel, cleaning kit, cleaning forfait, loo rolls, ..... And I find that it is too easy to complain when it is possible to change apartment to pay cheaper....
Céline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Don't expect anything special from this residence but it is as cheap as can be and for that you can ski in either Bareges (Grand Tourmalet) within 10 minutes drive or Luz Ardiden within 30 minutes drive. There is even a shuttle bus organised by the residence that leaves twice in the morning and returns in the afternoon. Only problem is that you need to prebook it the day before otherwise you are not allowed to board the bus.

If you arrive after the reception closes then there is a list of names on the door and it will tell you which is your apartment. We had a ground floor apartment as we had dogs and they made use of the garden. Reception staff are friendly.

You need to pack a few things of your own in order to avoid buying everything in the small carrefour in town. They include; toilet roll, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, scourer and brush, towels and possibly your own bedding. High chairs are available for hire free of charge from reception.

There is a lot of noise from other people in the building as it is concrete and very little has been done about soundproofing, especially when people are going up and down stairs in ski boots.

The swimming pool was at 30C and was free to use.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline C, Responsable réception at Domaine Du Val De Roland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Good morning,
Thank you for your message. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here!
See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews