We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
164
42
12
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
42
12
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richard holkar the river boat ride each meal organic garden old world charm terrace overlooking whole experience evening cocktails royal suite early morning various locations can't wait to come back traveling alone the guest relations manager beautiful sculptures lunches and dinners
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel check in was really good from Start to room...excellent staff and hospitallity... property is also.unique a real palace lived like a one.........Decoration is full authentic ... food is delicious and planned as per our requirements and timing...boat ride is beautiful

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GAURAV A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I am grateful to Prince Holkar and the entire Ahilya Fort team for facilitating a wonderful stay for our group visiting from The Hotchkiss School. The hotel is uniquely beautiful in its location above the Narmada River, and the gardens and pool provide a highly tranquil atmosphere. Most impressive, however, is the quality of care and hospitality demonstrated by the entire Ahilya staff. Mr. Maitra was an exceptional manager with a radiantly positive attitude, and he went out of his way to make us feel welcome and cared for at the hotel. In addition, Kuntabai, Roshan, Vijay, Bhishnu, Garva, Sanjay, Parveez, and the rest of the staff were unwavering in their efforts to support us and keep us well nourished with outstanding food and beverages. This is a gem of a hotel, and we thank the Ahilya Fort team for all their efforts in fostering such an unforgettable experience in Maheshwar.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rholkar, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Samuel K,Thank you for your words of support, which I am transmitting to the entire staff. Such comments are inspirational, both in terms of appreciating the efforts all have made, and ensuring that continued interaction and sincere service will be the leif motif for the future.
regards

richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Convivial, luxurious and in a very good way, slightly eccentric, there is so much that is simply "right" about this lovely hotel.
Added to this, Maheshwar itself is the most welcoming, vibrant and colourful of towns.
Drifting down the Narmada on one of the hotel boats, watching the sun set and with the distant sound of the temple drums, it is hard to imagine a more exotic place!
There is such a happy and relaxed feel to Ahilya Fort; all involved in the running of this exquisite place should be tremendously proud of their hotel..
Robert and Wendy

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank verasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rholkar, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Robert and Wendy

thank you so much for your words of support, which make proud our staff and enthuse them to continue the good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Perched high above the ghats of Maheshwar, 250-year-old AHILYA FORT watches over the sacred Narmada river like a sentinel. Once the residence of a famed Maratha queen, this beautifully restored hotel offers a combination of tranquillity and royal allure along with mesmerising views of the river and the ghats below. The Fort hotel has hosted Princes, Dukes, Stars and a wide variety of celebrities since its rebirth as a luxury accommodation.

LOCATION: Excellent location right next to the ghats

DINE + DRINK: This is probably the LOWLIGHT of this place! The Prince (Richard HOlkar) who owns the fort, still seems to be in an English Colonial Hangover and more biased towards serving and pleasing Western Tourists who still crave for European cuisine even when travelling. So the SET MEAL (which itself as issue since you are captive customers in a way) is more skewed towards rich Western Cuisine. Considering you are in the Heartland of India with one of the best regional Cuisines, they can surely do better on this front!

ROOM: I stayed in the NEEM Riverview ALcove cottage, so this review is based on that; VIEW: Mesmerising view of the ghats and River below. Do spend enough time at the lovely ALCOVE if you can.; SIZE: Very spacious room; AIR-CON: Perfectly functioning cooler that helped in setting the perfect room temperature; BED: Comfortable bed that played the expected part to put me to sleep; BATHROOM: Stand in shower; TOILETRIES: Very basic, Bring your own!

FACILITIES: No Gym on site , but they make up for it with a Lovely Swimming pool that you should surely check out. How often you get to swim in a pool within a FORT palace!

SERVICE: Friendly staff that took care of all my needs with a smile and made us feel pampered and well taken care of. Special Shout out to KUNTA BAI and MAITRA (the Guest Relations Manager)

HOW WIRED YOU WILL BE: Medium speed Wi-Fi that works well all over the property. No Television in the room ,which should be case as it lets you connect with the excellent surroundings and ambience in an undisturbed way.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talesofales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rholkar, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Greetings Prasanna V

Thank you for taking the time to make a TA entry,. It was thorough and informative.

I am happy that tyour overall experience was good. As far as food is concerned, we offer a light western lunch, suitable for daytime temperatures of 40+ at this time of year, and 30+ thje rest of the year. We never serve western cuisine rich or otherwise at dinner, rather Cuisines from all over India are served in the evenings.
Our kitchen will gladly prepare a selection from numerous Indian dishes for lunch when asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

It was a hot day...43 degrees centigrade, and we entered this sleepy, dusty town of Maheshwar and turned left to go to the fort. This was the erstwhile capital of the Malwa kingdom in the 18th century. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar made this her principal place of residence and built a beautiful Wada type of Rajwada...on the lines of those you find in Maharashtra,i.e. every living space has a central courtyard, with a tree or some such, and a built up area all around it with steps leading to it, which is at least 3 feet above the ground.

We entered a garden space with a huge Panchaloha statue of Devi Ahilya Bai in the centre holding a Lingam...she was a great Shivbhakth. Only a small part of the Rajwada itself is open to the public, so even though we were told about the beauty of the Narmada flowing by the side of the verandas, we did not see it. We then climbed down some old steps to the weaving rooms of Rewa, the trust that produces Maheshwari saris and other things for which Maheshwar is famous for, this also is run by the Holkars the erstwhile Royalty of Malwa.

The fort itself was build much before her time, and apparently is mentioned in the Akbarnama, during Mughal times, and older texts. It is build of huge stone slabs stuck together with lime, egg shells, and other organic stuff. The ramparts are massive, and extend along the side of the Narmada river, where there are ghats, with Chattris of Devi Ahilya Bai, and some of the other Queens. It is quite beautiful and peaceful, with an island in the middle of the river, hosting the Baneshwar temple.

This place has maybe a 100 temples all devoted to Lord Shiva.
We were happy to have visited this place...ended the morning with a really good Aloo Paratha at Jabbo's Cafe at the entrance to the fort.


Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Shanth148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rholkar, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hello Shanth

So nice to know that you enjoyed Maheshwar. You might wish to come back and spend a night or two in Labbooz' Lodge, where we have some very charming rooms, in the ancient fort gate house. Regards

R Holkar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews