We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, serene step into the past."”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Historic Forest Oaks Manor
Rear of the Manor at Forest Oaks
The Grounds
Front portico
Center Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Natural Bridge, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katbrown1...
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“A lovely, serene step into the past."”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My family spent four days in the cottage of this historic estate for our son's Washington and Lee graduation. We were only 15 minutes from campus, but it felt as if we were deep in the hills with nothing but nature around us. With soft breezes, wind-blown grass, sleepy trees and hedge hogs playing in the pasture, we were able to relax and enjoy visiting with family when away from the hustle and bustle of graduation. It made for a wonderful family get-together. The beds were extremely comfortable. Although, there is central air and heat, it wasn't even needed because the cottage is so solidly built, as in the old days, that it insulated itself from the fluctuating temperatures. We kept the doors open onto the screened porch and remembered what it was like growing up with only the sound of loved ones' voices and a summer breeze. The owners made sure that we were very comfortable and gave us a wonderful tour of the manor house. Highly, highly recommend a stay in the cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well furnished.
Liked least: Some highway noise.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
It was a pleasure to host Kathleen and her charming family while here to celebrate their son's graduation from W&L University. We do hope Kathleen will return to visit us in the future to stay again in the cottage, or in the Manor House itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney...
1 review
“Perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had 4 adults and 3 toddlers and were extremely comfortable. The property was beautiful and well appointed. The owners were fantastic at getting any questions we had answered. We will absolutely be back!

The only suggestion I would have for you is to go through Lexington for groceries (about 20-30 min) if you plan to cook before you get on to the property in Natural Bridge as there isn't much in the way of fresh foods that we found.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure to have Courtney and her family and friends stay with us. We hope to have them back with us soon.

There are a few small general type grocery stores just a few minutes near by for basic grocery needs. Large full size stores will be in Lexington.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Highly recommend this beautiful cottage with all the amenities you will need for your stay. Located on the scenic Forest Oaks Estate it is the perfect place for a relaxing get away. Convenient to local attractions and good shopping! Definitely going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
It was a delight having Linda and her group stay with us. Wonderful charming ladies. We hope to have them all back with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryland H
1 review
“Excellent rental property”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very clean and well kept cottage. The owner really goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. My family really enjoyed our stay and plan to go back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
It was a pleasure to have Ryland and his family stay with us. They were very respectful to the home and good communication. We hope to have them with us again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dauber54
norfolk va
1 review
“Amazing time we had!!!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at this house last weekend to celebrate my granddaughter 11 birthday for she wanted to go to the zoo safari. What an amazing place for the money! Fully equipped kitchen nice and clean room, and very comfortable beds! Girls could run and play in the open fields when we weren't at the zoo. I would love to come back in the fall and stay again and visit the cavans. Only thing I would change is the lighting outside being house was off the main road. Loved our stay and time with family!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Outside lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing