We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the ambiance, but unable to eat at establishment due to 2nd amendment rights”

El Jefe Taqueria Garaje
Ranked #3 of 347 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Description: Eclectic tequila bar serving simple fresh tacos. Located in the heart of downtown Lynchburg! Walk into a restored and repurposed garage, and enjoy a unique dining experience with an open kitchen, friendly bar service, and plenty of deck and patio seating. Our well stocked bar boasts 85 tequilas available in short or long pours.
Restaurant details
Description: Eclectic tequila bar serving simple fresh tacos. Located in the heart of downtown Lynchburg! Walk into a restored and repurposed garage, and enjoy a unique dining experience with an open kitchen, friendly bar service, and plenty of deck and patio seating. Our well stocked bar boasts 85 tequilas available in short or long pours.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

My family came in from out of state to visit. We took them to downtown Lynchurburg, because it is so beautiful and we like to support local businesses and believe in the importance of supporting local businesses as our family work for locally owned and operated businesses in their home town. We are law abiding citizens that believe in our 2nd amendment rights. Unfortunately this establishment as well as many of the restaurants in downtown Lynchburg choose to be gun free zones, therefore we are unable to support several places in downtown Lynchburg as a result. We ended up leaving downtown Lynchburg and going to another local restaurant in Lynchburg that does support 2nd amendment rights. Please do visit downtown Lynchburg! It is gorgeous! The riverfront is beautiful and there are lots of little shops. Just know if you are a 2nd ammendment person you may not be welcomed at several places in downtown Lynchburg.

1  Thank Tarheelchick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G, Guest Relations Manager at El Jefe Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hey friend, we appreciate you supporting downtown's local businesses. However, we are sorry to hear we won't be seeing you in El Jefe, we understand. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2018

Sat at bar with friends for drinks and dinner. Very good tacos and an excellent tequila selection. Was a lively place, but not so noisy that we couldn't hear each other.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeanneClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G, Guest Relations Manager at El Jefe Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thanks for the positive feedback, we love hearing what our guests thought of their visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This place makes a great lunch salad. The food is fresh, decor is fun, and the staff was friendly. I sat at the bar because they were full for lunch and on a wait, but it was worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prellyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G, Guest Relations Manager at El Jefe Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi friend, we appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you much more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

All i can say is when you make sure you get the pitcher of margarita's. Also have a few shots of tequilla. Atmosphere is great!

Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G, Guest Relations Manager at El Jefe Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks for the recommendation! We hope you had as much as we did on your​ visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We visited and were able to bring the dog. They have a nice patio overlooking the river, very nice atmosphere. Tacos were tasty . Service was excellent! We watched a server deal with a very difficult customer and she did a fantastic job. I’d like to come back and try more! Thanks for being dog friendly, we haven’t had much luck downtown Lynchburg.

Thank browndogtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G, Guest Relations Manager at El Jefe Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hey friend, you are more than welcome to bring your pup to see us anytime! We are so glad you loved your visit and can't wait to have you again Hopefully we will gain the last two stars from you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jefe Taqueria Garaje also viewed

 

Been to El Jefe Taqueria Garaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing