We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
463
438
163
44
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
438
163
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgale beachshuttle buspiano barold townrabbit beachpool areahome from homefree minibusrelaxing holidayout of the waylovely hotelsea viewplenty of sunbedsfour timesnearest beachalbufeira townlocal beach
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days, we had a lovely room and it was cleaned every day the hotel was spotless and staff were friendly. The free bus to the beach was very good and always seemed on time.

The only thing that I was disappointed in was the food we were half board, the breakfast was good apart from the coffee from the machine, I would recommend using the sachet in the basket with the teas and hot water. The evening meals weren’t very good at all most of the hot table were luke warm and the deserts were more or less the same every night, they have tv screens on the wall advertising all these lovely cakes etc but only one night did we get a decent cheesecake and no sign of these lovely cakes.

The weather while we were there wasn’t that great so we thought we would take a look at the indoor pool, we didn’t go in as it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for ages, also the hot tub water looked yellow.
My husband did have a massage while we were there and he said this was very good.

Would we stay here again, probably not as it’s quite remote.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We loved this modest four star hotel. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent too. Our room was comfortable with a great balcony view over the superb and welcoming swimming area and garden, with the sea in the near distance. The food was always fine with a variety of menu items that always satisfied us. Most guests were adults, but the families seemed happy enough. There was entertainment every night that was reasonably varied and good, singers, guitarists or pianists. Middle of the road, but skilled and even quite jazzy some nights.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoraNBaia, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Bryan G,

Thank you for coming to our hotel.

We're pleased to know, that you have enjoyed your time with us.
Your kind review shows us, that we're working correctly to satisfy the guests needs.

We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Baia Grande.

Best regards,
Carolina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Great to see some familiar faces along with some new. Everywhere is spotlessley clean. Rooms are large with comfortable beds & plenty of storage. Good sized bathroom with a really powerful shower. Breakfast is good with a great choice of food available. The pool is excellent with plenty of sunbeds available. A great selection of drinks & snacks are available at the pool bar. We choose to dine out at night making use of the courtesy shuttle bus into town. We had a great time and have booked again for next year. Many thanks to Paulo & his fabulous team.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cynem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoraNBaia, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Cynem,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Baia Grande.

Thank you for the outstanding review. Be sure we will pass your kind words to all staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Carolina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

My mum and I have just returned from here after a 3 day stay.
We arrived at the hotel at 1am (after a delayed flight) we were immediatly made to feel very welcome by the man on the reception desk, check in was very quick and efficient.

Our room was lovely, and absolutely spotless (as was the entire hotel!) the maids do an excellent job! We were in room 303 which overlooked the swimming pool and out to sea. Beautiful views.
The shower was so powerful it was great and the beds were so comfy.
The hotel was lovely and quiet at night time, we slept great!
Reception staff........outstanding......I must mention Dora who was extremely helpful to my mum and I, literally nothing was ever too much trouble (there was another lady also who had glasses and long hair but I don't remember her name who was just as equally helpful)
Food. The food was lovely, although not a massive selection, we always found something nice to have! Again the staff were friendly and efficient!
Pool. The outdoor pool is stunning but absolutely freezing which was such a shame (we both went in but lasted about 5 minutes!) There is a snack bat that serves all the usual drinks/snacks/ice cream etc and yet again more brilliant staff! There are also plenty of sunloungers (we were sometimes the only people out by the pool but this was May so not sure if it will be the same in July/August)
Indoor pool. This was much warmer but unfortunaly you have to wear a swimming hat (we were unaware of this so couldn't go in so we just dipped our feet in!)
Location. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from a very small beach and snack bar. It is around a 45 minute walk into Albufiera ( down some very narrow roads!) alternitavley you can book a taxi for €8-€10 each way or the hotel runs a free bus service at selected times of the day.

All in all this was a fantastic few days away in an excellent hotel which I 100% recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank SarahEd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoraNBaia, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear SarahEd25
Thank you for taking the time to review our services, I am very pleased we were able to correspond to your requirements.

Should you ever require our services or if we may help with anything you may require, please don´t hesitate to contact us.

Wish you and your lovely family all the best and hopefully see you soon.

Regards
Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We have recently visited this hotel for the second time, and as the first were not disappointed.
From the warm welcome we received from Gill on arrival, the chance to upgrade our room, and the rest of our stay, we cannot recommend this hotel enough.
The room on the 3rd floor was lovely, with a fantastic view of the pool and sea. It was very comfortable, and it was a pleasure at night to sit on the balcony and just take in the surroundings.
The pool area is very relaxing, and immaculately kept.
We didn’t eat a main meal in the restaurant but had snacks by the pool, and via room service, both of which were lovely.
All of the staff were friendly and had a smile us, and it was nice to be recognised by some we had met on our last visit.
We used the free mini bus into the Old Town twice and it was very punctual.
Hopefully we will return very soon for our third visit.

Room Tip: Suite on the 3rd Floor was beautiful, with a fantastic view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KarenC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauloasr, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear KarenC1968

Delighted your stay went as expected, Look forwrad to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews