We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Venards Lodge

Fully equipped modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room
Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
The ensuite bathroom to the Gorley Room
The Gorley Room has a super king bed and ensuite bathroom with shower too
The bright sunny Sitting Room
Welcome Hamper and homemade cake for our guests
Awarded the coveted '5 Star Gold' rating from  Visit England
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Gorley, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie M
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed in this beautiful house with my husband, 2 young sons and mother-in-law and we had such a great time. Nadine gave us a very warm welcome and the homemade cake and fresh eggs were a lovely touch. The house is furnished to very high standards with everything you could possibly want. The beds were incredibly comfortable and my elder son was excited to find bunk beds and a cupboard full of toys! The bathrooms were just beautiful and it was fun to use the aga to boil the kettle, make toast and cook perfect eggs! There were even 2 outdoor tables and chairs (one in the garden to enjoy evening sunshine and BBQs and one at the front of the house to enjoy sunny breakfasts). Nadine gave the boys corn to feed the chickens which they loved. It was a perfect peaceful base from which to explore both the New Forest and the nearby coast (we spent a day at Studland beach). We wished we could have stayed longer and would love to return in the future. Thank you, Nadine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Venards Lodge and all it has to offer. Thank you for your lovely review, it really is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at Venards Lodge at the end of April as a treat for my Mum who had just celebrated her 80th birthday. It was a wonderful base, so many lovely places to visit within a short drive and the forest on your doorstep. The roaming animals were a lovely feature, especially the donkeys, and we were lucky enough to see a new born foal on the village green. It feels like you are in the depths of the countryside yet everywhere is so accessible. The house is lovely, and so cosy, we were reluctant to leave. The beds are wonderful so you are assured of a good nights sleep. We enjoyed using the Aga and eating the the home made cake and fresh eggs which were provided on our arrival. Nadine is lovely , so welcoming and helpful . On our first day we went to the coast near Lymington on a route through the forest that Nadine had suggested avoiding all the busy roads and tourist traps. It was a great drive ( you go through 2 fords) that we used several times during the holiday and one evening was particularly memorable with the sun shining through the trees at sunset. We thoroughly enjoyed a trip to Exbury gardens which was a mass of colour at this time of year with all the Rhododendrons & Azealas in full bloom as well as all the bluebells. My mother has trouble walking far, so it was great to be able to see all the gardens in either an electric buggy or by minature train. We also visited Winchester & Salisbury and the park & ride was very useful for us. So much to see & do in the area whether you are 8 or 80 it's a great place for a holiday and Venards Lodge is a wonderful base. Highly recommended..... My parents haven't stopped talking about it since we returned home.!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments. I am so glad that your mum enjoyed her special birthday treat and really hope we can welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
940ashley...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING! They thought of it all!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Venards Lodge over Easter weekend & it was beyond LOVELY. Nadine and team were the kindest, informative, and thoughtful hosts ever. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the most delicious lemon cake. In addition, a basket of fresh eggs (from the chickens out our back door) were waiting to be cooked for breakfast the next morning. My 16month old daughter was obsessed with the chickens, whom Nadine allowed her the pleasure of feeding them one day. Two cots were provided (as 2 16 month old children were along for the trip) as well as two high chairs & toys. Very family friendly!

The accommodations were delightful; the bedding & linens were so soft & cozy, the decorations were to a high standard, and the AGA oven was fabulous!

I only have wonderful things to say about our stay. I hope to be back someday to further enjoy the Venards Lodge. So lovely! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Farm fresh eggs in the morning, AGA oven, Cozy linens, comfy beds
Liked least: That I had to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you all here at Venards and thank you so much for your lovely words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing