We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than impressed with this wonderful mountain...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Galax, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert W...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than impressed with this wonderful mountain escape!”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

When we entered through the cabin door, we weren't sure if we were in VA or in Colorado! The view of the large pine trees through the glass windows is breathtaking. The log furniture and decor give the feel of an authentic log cabin nestled in a ski lodge environment. The hot tub on the front porch is amazing and we visited it frequently as temperatures dropped below freezing both nights we were there. The location of the cabin is perfect if you enjoy hiking/driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is also very convenient to the quaint town of Galax with wonderful stores and restaurants. We definitely plan to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thanks for taking time out of
your schedule to write such a great review! Hope to have you back again.
Hope you have a wonderful holiday season! Thanks, Randy and Terry
Harmon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvetdru...
Grove City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Virginia is for Lovers”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cozy, warm, inviting and relaxing. Loved every second. Thank you so much!! Will be renting again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Thanks so much for your great review!! We are so glad that
you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you so much for taking
the time to write us a review. We certainly appreciate it!
Randy and Terry Harmon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaL10...
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience at Elk Ridge”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is tucked away in a clearing in the woods. Even though there is another cabin and the owner's house on the same property, it was perfectly secluded and private.

The pictures on Trip Advisor don't do this cabin justice. The lot is green (in the summer time) and is surrounded by dense forest. There is also a large hot tub on the covered porch that is not shown.

Inside, the cabin was clean, very cozy, nicely decorated, and well-appointed. We found everything we needed and then some (towels, linens, some toiletries, cooking implements, appliances, dishes, utensils, pantry staples, condiments, etc). The bed was comfortable, the appliances all worked, lighting was adequate. Central air was a particularly nice feature. First floor stayed nice and cool. The loft was much warmer (heat rises!), but there is a window unit to help upstairs.

Outside, the hot tub was fantastic. There is also a nice sized gas grill and a fire pit. We spent quite a lot of time in the rocking chairs on the front porch, watching the rain and spying a woodland creature or two.

If you visit, you should be aware that there is no cell service (T-mobile or AT&T) or wi-fi in the cabin, nor in most of the town of Galax. We drove about 20 minutes to get somewhere with signal. This is not a negative for us, as we were happy to be disconnected from the outside world for most of our visit, but it did make planning activities and navigating the back roads challenging.

Also, the cabin is up a steep gravel drive that was in rough shape due to heavy rains and erosion - my SUV was fine negotiating it, but a lower-sitting car might not have made it up the hill.

If you are looking for panoramic mountain views, you won't find them here because of the dense forest. But there are plenty of nearby places you can drive to along the Blue Ridge Parkway for photos and sight-seeing.

We loved this cabin and our visit so much that we plan to return next year.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank You so much for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to send us some feedback. We are so glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry your cell service was not good. Only thing that works in this area is US Cellular and Verizon. Hope to see you next year!
Randy and Terry Harmon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage678...
1 review
“Bear Den”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great loves getting away from the city for a couple days very relaxing, and loves the scenic views thru the Blue Ridge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValCherry
Hampton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in November 2014

We spent thanksgiving week in 2013. We stayed in the smaller cabin i 2012. It was the best family time ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the cabin. the decorations and the openess and the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing