We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed accommodations in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway
Butterflies, Blackberries and Cool Mountain Breezes Chances Creek View from Back Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway
Butterflies, Blackberries and Cool Mountain Breezes
Chances Creek View from Back Deck
Living Room/Kitchen combined. Electric Fireplace.
Stainless Steel Frig/Stove/Microwave/Dishwasher
Sitting Area on Second Floor Adjacent To Bedroom (above)
Back Porch that Overlooks Mountain
New River Trail.. 9 Miles From Cabin
New River - Canoe, Kayak, Tube, Fish on this Beautiful River
Creekside Brewery and Restaurant--Live Music
View from Front of Cabin
Personal Best Catch, Crooked Creek Fee Fishing Area---Wow- 3 miles from Cabin.
Historic Rex Theater--Live Music
Abundant Wildlife
Blue Ridge Music Center 5 miles from Cabin on Parkway
Views from Blue Ridge Parkway, 1 mile from Fernwood Cabin
Mayby Mill on Blue Ridge Parkway. Eat Buckwheat Pancakes. About 35 min. Drive
Crooked Creek -- Trails, Fishing, Horseback Trails--3 miles from Fernwood Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galax, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sylvia H
north chesterfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully appointed accommodations in the mountians”
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Picking up our key was the beginning of a great stay. Judy warmly greeted us and provided a loaf of fresh bread to enjoy. There were fresh cut flowers on the kitchen table welcoming us as we entered the cabin. We enjoyed the quite that surrounded us and the view was breath taking. Wish we had been able to enjoy the fire pit and rocking chairs, but time did not allow it. Looking forward to going back in August.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
So glad you enjoyed the cabin. Thank you for leaving the cabin so clean We appreciate your choosing us for your vacation time. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxing Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a long early spring weekend at this charming cabin. It was private but had easy access to Galax, Hillsville, Mt. Airy and is only 4 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Great hospitality - fresh-cut daffodils and fresh bread greeted us upon arrival. We will come back here again. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Dear Julie,

Thank you for staying with us I am glad you enjoyed the mountains and our cabin. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thanks so Much. We try to provide a clean, comfortable place to kick back and enjoy life. We have added rocking chairs to the front porch. Looking forward to your visiting again. Thanks for leaving things so clean upon your departure. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Escape426...
hershey
1 review
“Incredible”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Situated in the mountains of Virginia, this cabin offers the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of life. Amenities abound, peaceful, private and cozy.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come to the mountains again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
Charlotte, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Galax”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The cabin was beautiful. It was exactly what we needed.we had a great time in the Galax area. The cabin is very close to the blue ridge parkway, which was our goal. The Rex Theater is a very cool place to go while you are in the area.
Judy was extremely helpful! She had a list of directions printed up for how to get just about anywhere you might want to go. She also printed out a list of everything going on in the area. She was a wealth of knowledge. She even knew which restaurants would be open and which would be closed.
The only small negative with the cabin, we didn't have any cell service but for us we were glad to get away from technology.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. This is a lovely time to visit the mountains. Since the cabin is in such a deeply forested area and because of the topography we are unable to get good cell service and even wifi. But isn't it great to take a break from all that? Hope you will return. Thanks for the great review. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing