We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Welcome plate and complimentary wine                          Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Enjoy your wine near the pool                                                   Photo: Warren Salmon
Enjoy coffee on your private porch
Life is just a bowl of Breakfast Berries!                          Photo: Warren Salmon
Breakfast in your room                                                  Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Historic Main House, built 1810-1842
The Cottage adjacent to the Main House
Enjoy a picnic lunch poolside
The Pool House in April
Lunch under the wisteria
View from the hillside
One of two bridges connecting the property's 22 acres
Room for bocce and croquet!
Or play frisbee with Joe!                                                       Photo: Warren Salmon
Your hosts, Anne, Jim and Joe                                         Photo: Warren Salmon
Bedtime treats!                                                         Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Homemade Blondies                                                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Juan M
1 review
“Amazing hospitality”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Anne went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed and it was a great experience and awesome suite as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
You are always so welcome here--hurry back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our first stay at a B&B and it did not disappoint, it was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, cozy, clean and the hosts (Anne, Jim and Joe) were superb! I sincerely hope we are able to return soon. The after dinner treats were yummy!

Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you! Very much looking forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances W
1 review
“More than just a bed”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

While only looking for convenience and a reasonable price point, we found much more. An accommodating hostess, a well appointed bedroom, bath, entry/pantry-all meticulously clean and neat were at our disposal along with snacks and breakfast to our specs. We hope to have an excuse to lodge there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you!!! We pride ourselves on exceeding expectations. May the weather gods shine on you next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
1 review
“Wonderful peace and quiet”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a wonderful spot to "get away." A quiet B&B with the room separate from the main house, and your own private swimming pool. We hiked the nearby trails on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and then after cooling off in the pool we restored ourselves in the local breweries and wineries. Blue Ridge Mountain Brewery was great. Anne and Jim, the proprietors, are extremely sweet and totally unobtrusive. There is even a small creek with a walking trail running through the property--a perfect spot to read or meditate. If you are looking to unwind a bit, this is a perfect spot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you! We hope you'll be back soon--it was so nice to meet you both and we really enjoyed having you here--Joe is still sulking because he misses his new buddies!
All Best,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarkster2...
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway! ”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Sunnybank is a true gem and setting for a perfect getaway. From a wine and cheese plate to enjoy upon arrival on the porch swing overlooking the stunning property to your own private pool to bedtime treats from Anne this place was perfect. A bit of a drive from Charlottesville proper, sunnybank offered great access to a number of vineyards, breweries and hikes in the Shenandoah. We would love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
We are truly looking forward to welcoming you both back, Sarah! Wish we were closer than 25 minutes to C-ville, but then we wouldn't be able to offer you easy access to vineyards and breweries, or 22 acres to play on!
Come this Fall and enjoy bocce, croquet and badminton--you will always be special guests here.

All best,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing