We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Place To Call "Home"”
Afton Cottage in April
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afton Cottage in April
Welcome to Afton Cottage!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Afton Cottage in April
Welcome to Afton Cottage!
Living Room toward kitchen & bedrooms
Queen Bedroom
Queen bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Deck View
Stream at the foot of the hill
Deck
Woodland view
Cottage in the snow in March
Patch o' ferns
Young visitor
Location Map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Valerie w
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“A Place To Call "Home"”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If there is one thing I could say about this vacation it was that I definitely never wanted to go home and I wasn't ready to go home when I had to leave. This cabin was a true escape from our every day fast-paced life. The cleanliness and amenities included far exceeded our expectations. We knew that if there was anything that we needed i.e. recommendations on places to visit, groceries that we may have forgotten, or anything else, Dick would be there to answer any questions for us. The amount of information in the cabin about the area was impressive & I had already spent 2 weeks researching on what to do in the area. It was kind of a waste of my time because once we got there we just drove down the roads and experienced all new kinds of things & met amazing people. Our souls were rejuvenated at the cabin & we Highly recommend this incredible spot for you to rejuvenate your soul as well!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Come on back! We would love for Afton Cottage to make you happy again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40622John
Eastport, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong at Afton Cottage.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, and our dog Evie, stayed at the Afton Cottage for four nights in Sept. 2014. I can only echo the comments of most other visitors. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The drive to the cottage is on a winding, hilly road with scenery that is knock out gorgeous. The cottage is at the end of a 200 yard driveway and sits in a wooded glen. It is private and very quiet. The cottage itself has everything you need for any length stay. It is comfortably and tastefully furnished. The kitchen is well equipped, and the bedrooms are spacious with dressers, closets, and extra blankets. There is a large flat screen TV with all the channels, and a comfortable couch for viewing. The owner was instantly responsive to the one inquiry we made, but otherwise left us in privacy.
We had no complaints. I would highly recommend the Afton Cottage to anyone visiting central Virginia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location. Friendly host. Great comfort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
John, we are so happy that you enjoyed Afton Cottage. Thanks so much for the Sarah Graves mystery novels which you and Mary contributed to the cottage library. Veegie is enjoying them immensely. We hope to see you, Mary, & Evie again, soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Larry, thanks for your kind remarks. I hope that the next time you are up our way, you will choose Afton Cottage for your home-away-from-home, again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MD.
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing