We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$164
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/02/21
Snaptravel
Official Site
US$139
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$164
Expedia.comUS$164
PricelineUS$164
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
291
58
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
291
58
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house the main house middlebury college garden room new england bike tour mansfield room owners and staff large bathroom winter weekend common areas breakfast was delicious stayed one night fresh baked cookies each morning king bed other guests
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2021

My fiancé and I spent our one night off together at the Swift House Inn and could not have been happier. They helped me coordinate surprise wine and chocolate covered strawberries to be waiting in the room, kept our fire wood stocked (yes, there is a gorgeous wood-burning fireplace in the room!!!), and generally made us feel completely relaxed and at home.

The bed room was huge, with a fireplace, sitting area, jacuzzi tub and an incredibly comfortable bed. The sheets were luxurious - truly considering buying some for my own house! There are so many thoughtful touches in the rooms like Vermont chocolates, bubble bath, a small sewing kit, etc that aren't big things overall but that made us feel so taken care of. The on-site sauna and steam room were sparkling clean and the front desk has robes available.

We're so glad we also chose to have dinner onsite at Jessica's. The food was delicious and the wine list tremendous.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew Robinson, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow! That's so nice to hear that our hard work is paying off. Thank you, Emma, for taking the time to write such kind words. It means the world to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020

This is my second stay here at Swift House. My husband and I originally stayed here during our wedding weekend and loved it so much we came back for our anniversary. The entire staff is wonderful and so accommodating. The grounds are breathtaking! I was originally hesitant to stay because of COVID concerns, but the entire place was sparkling clean, all staff wore masks and kept their distance, and our rooms were cleaned at the end of our stay to avoid any potential contamination for both the cleaning staff and ourselves. I would highly recommend Swift House for your next getaway!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2020

Our group of three adults and an aging, canine companion had a wonderful overnight stay as part of a 98th birthday (she still drives a tractor) visit to Middlebury. Our two rooms in the Carriage House were large, nicely furnished with king-size, comfy beds and huge, modern bathrooms. Air conditioning and ceiling fans. Each room had a nice couch and small refrigerator. Parking is only a few feet away - along with an area to "walk" the dog. Speaking of the dog, there was a bowl and treats in the room. Virtually no traffic noise. In addition to the facilities, everyone was incredibly friendly - and the breakfast was great. Lots of choices. We had dinner at Jessica's, which is on site. Friendly, easy-going and delicious food - at very fair prices. The inn and the restaurant are a terrific combination. Lots of care for keeping tables and guests apart.

Room tip: Room 42 and 43 are ground floor and share the only entrance to one end of the building. Convenient, private if you need two rooms.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed recently while visiting my daughter at Middlebury College. Despite the frigid temperatures outside, we were warm and cozy. Spent a delightful evening after dinner by the fire. Will definitely return! And the chocolate chip cookies are perfection!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Carlayarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Loved a long weekend stay. Room was lovely, cozy. Staff so friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast with varied daily menu offering. Bar and open area were comfortable and accommodating. recommend for a winter stay and I'm sure it's equally delightful in the summer. Great option if you're touring or visiting the college.

Room tip: farther from entry stairs or carriage house may be quieter
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KAOAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews