We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Favorite Place in over 35 years of Family...”
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Battenkill Valley Mansion in Winter. Ski Stratton and Bromley in minutes!  4 fireplaces too! The Battenkill Mansion in Summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Battenkill Valley Mansion in Winter. Ski Stratton and Bromley in minutes!  4 fireplaces too!
The Battenkill Mansion in Summer
The vast living room with a piano, big TV, and lots of couches and games for hanging out.
the ballroom which can also be a meeting room, ballroom, wedding venue
Enormous kitchen with great pantry space too.
Incredible kitchen with 2 ovens, 10 gas burners, 2 refrigerators and lots of pantry space.
the wood paneled formal dining room seats everyone - plus there's an adjacent kids room. Fireplace!
Master suite on 2nd floor with 2 doubles, one twin, sitting room with couch and marble sunken tub.
master queen bedroom on 3rd floor shares a bathroom with kids room
King bedroom features a wood burning fireplace, sitting room, clawed foot tub.
Another angle of the king bedroom master suite.
King bedroom on 3rd fl.
The only bedroom without a private bathroom. This shares with another room with 2 beds.
Queen bedroom 3rd fl.
2 double beds on 2nd floor with private bathroom with shower.
Bedroom with 2 fulls on 3rd floor and private bathroom.
Children's room with 2 bunk beds.
Twin room on ground floor with beautiful wood carved armoire.
Queen bedroom on ground floor.
The 3rd floor master apartment.
master bath with sunken marble tub
clawed foot tub
Bathroom with clawed foot tub and shower for 2nd floor king suite.
Bathroom for 3rd floor room with 2 doubles.
Bathroom with jacuzzi for king bedroom 3rd fl.
The ballroom can also be a great family game room with ping pong.
the ballroom is a perfect space for yoga
This family came for 10 days to celebrate a 60th birthday.
the house lit up for your celebration
Harvard University uses our mansion for multiple graduate student retreats each year.
We can cater your feast or you can host a formal party at the Billiard Room in the Wilburton Mansion
Big living room for hanging out with friends and multi generational family reunions.
yoga retreat
yoga retreats a specialty
formal dining room with wood burning fireplace
Ideal for corporate groups and retreats. We can host up to 125 guests in our whole property.
great for family fun
40th birthday special weekend.
guests enjoy the ball room to celebrate a big birthday weekend with friends
Use one of the bedrooms for massage
Our sister mansion 1/2 mile away, the Wilburton Inn offers pool, tennis & farm restaurant in summer.
Enjoy the pool 1/2 a mile away at the Wilburton Inn
tennis at the wilburton inn 1/2 mile away
Let us make your celebrations special!
River Road is the perfect scenic biking outside your door.
serene private pine tree entrance
fall campfire
beautiful wood details through the mansion
We can cater your family feast!
Wonderful space for reatreats
guests cooking together
Santa comes to visit
These guests had a weeklong Brown University Reunion
Church group retreat.
the ballroom was used as a crafting room for a week long retreat.
floorplans
floorplans
floorplans
Overview
Villa -
14 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Manchester, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judy37
Cambridge,. MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in over 35 years of Family Reunions”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Battenkill Valley Mansion was the perfect place for our family reunion of 20 adults and 13 children. This is our favorite place of all the places we stayed in over 35 years of family reunions. The bedrooms are large and some are suites, so those with young children can be comfortable in one room. The dining room, living room, and extra large game/music/dancing hall could all accommodate our whole group at the same time. These are exceptional features that made it easy to do things together and to find spaces for quiet times.
Manchester Vermont is a lovely town in the Green Mountains with many activities for children and adults. Emerald Lake is a great place for swimming and boating and is only 20 minutes from the house. Our kids used the pool at the Inn (an easy walk or 2 minute drive) every day. Golf, hiking, outlet shopping, restaurants, and more are all nearby. Everyone felt they needed more time to explore all the things that Manchester has to offer.
With a large house and a large group, things can happen, so you want a management team that responds to your needs. A summer hailstorm greeted us one evening and the electricity went out in most of Manchester. Max and his staff came with flashlights, candles, and an update on the situation, which did not last that long but to which there was a fast and efficient response.
Melissa, the owner, wants you to enjoy your stay. From the moment we met, she was gracious, available, and helpful, even volunteering to come to take family pictures. With many thanks to all for helping to make this a wonderful family reunion at this special place. We look forward to coming back for our next reunion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large rooms, including bedrooms, some with suites, dining room, living room, and game/music/dance hall
Liked least: Wifi signal was not that strong
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hheights2...
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Spacious, clean and great location”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a large group and we fit comfortably. Although it is an older home, the house was spotless. Melissa was very responsive and helpful. we had great skiing at Stratton and enjoyed coming back to the house afterwards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how much room there was and how clean it was
Liked least: a little dated and wi fi not good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
So glad you had a great ski trip at Stratton. It was a pleasure to host you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Just because you have a large group doesn't mean you can't enjoy a charming stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Every interaction with the Host Team was quick, friendly and effective. They were easy to reach before we got there and did wonders to prepare for our stay. The house is old and classic, but is well maintained and in immaculate shape. Although we had a group of 20+ we able to all relax, and dine together without feeling cramped.

If there was anything we forgot to pack, town was only a short 5 min drive away, we were able to get to Killington in what seemed like 30 minutes. We had our lunch at Ski Mountain, but the Battenkill Mansion is great option to eat in, especially if you take advantage of their catering professionals!

If you have a large that wants some seclusion, but not to be right on top of each other I highly recommend this! Even in the winter! I look forward to the chance to return to this unique gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Toss up between the amount of room and fireplaces!
Liked least: I thought I got lost trying to find my room . . . but forgot there was a third floor!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
We are delighted you had such a great experience. Thanks so much for joining us for your VT vacation with your corporate group. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Melissa and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpatel
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Friends and Family Ski Trip”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

It quite difficult to find a large house to fit a large group (we maxed out the house) but to find a house that accommodates you, and has enough bathrooms and bed room that was great. To make things better the people behind the scene were just amazing. They welcomed us gave us the right information and made it so easy. We truly had an amazing time. The kids only turned on the tv to watch the payoff football and then it was off. We sat as a huge group eating in the dinning room. We cooked easily in the spacious kitchen and best ... I had a great shower even though everyone was using the 14 bathroom. I strongly recommend this house if you want a quality time with friends and family .... Just not MLK weekend ... it horrible that weekend because I want to rent it lol ... a true hidden gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and location
Liked least: nothing really, it was as advertised so i knew what i was getting
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWRhodeIs...
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome home for a large group”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have been doing extended family ski trips for about 5 years, but this was the first time at the Battenkill Valley Mansion. We had a group of 29 adults, children plus a dog, and everyone was extremely comfortable. The mansion is well maintained with a commercial grade kitchen, comfortable beds and bedding, and an attentive staff at the Wilberton inn less than a mile away, to handle any issues.

We plan to rent this home again next year... What more is there to say ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpful Staff, exceptionally comfortable accommodations.
Liked least: Heating was a bit out of balance in some rooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,495
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing