We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Time ! Great place! Great Family Fun !”
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Battenkill Valley Mansion in Winter. Ski Stratton and Bromley in minutes!  4 fireplaces too! The Battenkill Mansion in Summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Your very own mansion! 5 acre estate in Manchester Village - privacy, sleep 34 guests!
Battenkill Valley Mansion in Winter. Ski Stratton and Bromley in minutes!  4 fireplaces too!
The Battenkill Mansion in Summer
The vast living room with a piano, big TV, and lots of couches and games for hanging out.
the ballroom which can also be a meeting room, ballroom, wedding venue
Enormous kitchen with great pantry space too.
Incredible kitchen with 2 ovens, 10 gas burners, 2 refrigerators and lots of pantry space.
the wood paneled formal dining room seats everyone - plus there's an adjacent kids room. Fireplace!
Master suite on 2nd floor with 2 doubles, one twin, sitting room with couch and marble sunken tub.
master queen bedroom on 3rd floor shares a bathroom with kids room
King bedroom features a wood burning fireplace, sitting room, clawed foot tub.
Another angle of the king bedroom master suite.
King bedroom on 3rd fl.
The only bedroom without a private bathroom. This shares with another room with 2 beds.
Queen bedroom 3rd fl.
2 double beds on 2nd floor with private bathroom with shower.
Bedroom with 2 fulls on 3rd floor and private bathroom.
Children's room with 2 bunk beds.
Twin room on ground floor with beautiful wood carved armoire.
Queen bedroom on ground floor.
The 3rd floor master apartment.
master bath with sunken marble tub
clawed foot tub
Bathroom with clawed foot tub and shower for 2nd floor king suite.
Bathroom for 3rd floor room with 2 doubles.
Bathroom with jacuzzi for king bedroom 3rd fl.
The ballroom can also be a great family game room with ping pong.
the ballroom is a perfect space for yoga
This family came for 10 days to celebrate a 60th birthday.
the house lit up for your celebration
Harvard University uses our mansion for multiple graduate student retreats each year.
We can cater your feast or you can host a formal party at the Billiard Room in the Wilburton Mansion
Big living room for hanging out with friends and multi generational family reunions.
yoga retreat
yoga retreats a specialty
formal dining room with wood burning fireplace
Ideal for corporate groups and retreats. We can host up to 125 guests in our whole property.
great for family fun
40th birthday special weekend.
guests enjoy the ball room to celebrate a big birthday weekend with friends
Use one of the bedrooms for massage
Our sister mansion 1/2 mile away, the Wilburton Inn offers pool, tennis & farm restaurant in summer.
Enjoy the pool 1/2 a mile away at the Wilburton Inn
tennis at the wilburton inn 1/2 mile away
Let us make your celebrations special!
River Road is the perfect scenic biking outside your door.
serene private pine tree entrance
fall campfire
beautiful wood details through the mansion
We can cater your family feast!
Wonderful space for reatreats
guests cooking together
Santa comes to visit
These guests had a weeklong Brown University Reunion
Church group retreat.
the ballroom was used as a crafting room for a week long retreat.
floorplans
floorplans
floorplans
Overview
Villa -
14 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Manchester, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
29dick
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time ! Great place! Great Family Fun !”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Mansion and also the Inn were excellent for our family reunion. Accommodations were roomy and very comfortable and the kitchen well appointed. Inn only minutes away was great for our overflow. Greta service by cleaning and Inn staff. Outdoor area surrounding the Mansion great for games ,hiking and fire pit was meeting place for the whole family. Enjoyable time had by all. Will definitely be repeating in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Mansion and Inn combination provded for additional family members now and in the future
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind at this time
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2015
We loved welcoming almost 40 of you for your extended family reunion. We love that you checked out and immediately rebooked it for next fall! Our parents bought the Wilburton Inn and vacation villas 27 years ago, and since we are a 3 generation family run business we just love welcoming multigenerational family groups like yours to enjoy this beautiful Vermont piece of heaven.
See you next Fall!!
Melissa and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bathroom for every personality”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our retreat was centered on leadership development, creativity and environmental topics. The space was extremely well suited for introspection and group exploration. The quirkiness, as characterized by the diversity of the bathrooms and density of artwork, added to the creative appeal.

Arriving at the Battenkill mansion the first thought is that the side of the building doesn't quite reflect the image I'd conjured up in my head. Walking around front and through the front door into the foyer, past the baby grand piano and two incredibly comfortable chairs, the images and experience blend together.

The space is magnificent - the online photos evoke more of a real estate transaction and in my opinion fail to capture the character that the space holds. A splendid character, to be clear. For a retreat centered on leadership development and environmentally focused participants, the dynamic space invites engagement - internally and with others - and creativity. That said, while I was personally comfortable with the space's intensity, particularly with regard to the art, there were some in our group who experienced the art as distracting. This particular person also came to some exciting revelations, which to me speaks to the power of experiencing discomfort.

Logistically, the space was very clean, spacious and welcoming. Our group had 23 people during the days and we may have experienced a TP shortage towards the end. We couldn't find extra and have passed that info on to the inviting hosts who will ensure that it's addressed for future guests.

Access to the commercial kitchen space, the freedom to explore and get comfortable was a big part of our group's enjoyment and productivity in the space. We're grateful for the level of trust and responsibility that's placed on guests and I hope the hosts would agree that it was respected.

The posts's title reflects the diversity and number of bathrooms available. We MAY have fit upwards of 20 people in one of the tubs for both a photo and a mini-presentation. It's like having a popup meeting space available throughout the house... if only we'd held one in the third stairwell where Gorski prints are collecting dust (yes, it's that filled with art).

Visitors have trails to explore as well as nearby attractions like the Lincoln home, farms, and the town of Manchester. The other buildings and amenities of the property are also available so our response to the VT summer weather was a dip in the pool at the Wilburton Inn, a short walk from Battenkill.

If it hasn't been made clear in my description, yes I would encourage friends, relatives and certainly other retreat groups to stay in this space. I absolutely hope I have the opportunity to do so again

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The art and diversity of the bathrooms
Liked least: Toilet paper ran out.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
What a wonderful and thorough and thoughtful review! We'd love to see the photo of the 20 of you in the marble sunken bathtub!!! My brother lovingly restored all the 1904 bathrooms, and they really are amazing. I'm so glad you enjoyed not only the bathrooms, but the rooms and grounds and hikes.
Please come again!
Melissa Levis and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
We absolutely ADORED having your family join us for your Christmas holiday vacation in Vermont! It was wonderful to see the Christmas tree and lights twinkle in the ball room & see all the children enjoying the magic of a white christmas in Vermont. And the very best part is that our families have stayed friends in the past 6 months since you left! We can't wait for you and your beautiful family to join us again.
Thanks so much for sharing such a lovely review.
Melissa Levis & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ofir76876
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great option for weekend with friends”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Had a class weekend in this house and it was great - the beds were all set up beautifully, kitchen is very big and spacious, lots of hangout and chill spaces where people of us were able to play games and even a very big hall where we had a party. The house is located in a very nice area - so we did some short walking hikes. Overall we all had a great time!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Harvard Kennedy School , Harvard School of Journalism, Columbia Business School, Yale Neuro scientists - how lucky we are to host such smart grad student guests! We loved hosting your graduate school think tank retreat weekend. Please come back and join us again!
Melissa Levis and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osflynn
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great space for a big group”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this mansion for our family reunion in July. It was a terrific space for 31 people with a wide range of ages and interests. There were beds for all, plenty of space to play, and a great kitchen and dining room for group meals. We also really enjoyed using the Willburten Inn for its pool and tennis courts. And Manchester was an extra bonus with its great outlet shopping and general beauty and history.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for hosting your family reunion at our Battenkill Valley Mansion. It's amazing that the house can sleep all 31 of you under it's big roof, but that's exactly what we bought the house for: Giving big families the chance to relax together and catch up and enjoy spending time together cooking, playing, and creating cherished family memories of a lifetime. Thanks again for spending your reunion at our mansion in the mountains. We look forward to seeing you again!
Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,495
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing