We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
87
32
11
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
32
11
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels the main lodge front desk manager king suite large living room beautiful fireplace living area mini fridge dvd player weekend stay manchester center nice stay home away from home green mountains alyssa vermont loft
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Inadequate a/c in July, no working pool, no restaurant even though both were supposed to be open, no telephone service when we tried to call to report the a/c not working, unusable Wifi, neglected and shabby. When we told a waitress at a cafe about the conditions of this place, she responded “that’s unacceptable in this town” All this for $220 for the night. The good news is that we were there for only one night.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Dirty! Had an inkling when we walked into the office. The outside mat looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed in months and the floor was scuffed bare. Walked in the room and turned right around. Smelled bad too. Even though we asked for a refund we were told we had to wait till Monday. Will update after we speak to our credit card company.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I've stayed at this property many many times in the past, and felt that the experience was satisfactory. My most recent stay last month, was nothing but satisfactory. The property is now under new management. We were scheduled to stay 4 nights in a one bedroom fire place suite. The first night, the heat and electricity in the bathroom went out. We immediately notified the staff, who acted as if it happened all the time. After some time of flipping circuits, the problem was still not resolved. We were informed the owner of the hotel would be notified in the morning. It was a holiday weekend, and the hotel was sold out so they were unable to switch our room. The next day came and went with no contact from staff. We kept trying to discuss the issue with the front desk, but were just told the owner was notified. This is Vermont in February, it is completely unacceptable to not have heat or electric in the bathroom. After the staff repeatedly ignored our requests for a fix we had no choice but to check out early. Upon returning home, we again tried to contact the staff for a resolution. After my third phone call with no return correspondence I filled a complaint and dispute with my credit card company outlining the situation. After not ever having the decency to respond to us while on property, or even to my repeated attempts after we left .... the hotel then tell my credit card company that they "promptly switched our room when notified of the issue". This is a COMPLETE AND UTTER LIE. This matter is still being investigated by American Express which I'm sure will be resolved in my favor after much of a headache. BY all means DO NOT stay at this sub par hotel. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We arrived at 8:30 pm to find the office already dark and obviously closed for the night. We almost left to find another place to stay. As a last ditch effort we entered the lobby to the office and found an envelope on a wall with our name on it with a key and directions. It would have been nice to know ahead of time to look for that.

We found our room easily with the provided map, but the building was totally dark. We needed the car lights to find the door. The porch entrance in front of our door was blocked with a pile of deep snow. An opening further down the porch was plowed, but the porch was covered with ice and it was quite a challenge to get to our room without getting hurt. We mentioned it the next morning to the person in the office, but nothing was done about it.

The room itself is nice. It is large and has lots of windows and a nice view. There were signs of lacking maintenance, like 110 volt outlets with no covers and a few other minor areas that needed attention. The bathroom is large and done nicely in tile, though the bottom of the fiberglass shower/tub was stained and dirty looking in places.

The internet was not working which was very annoying.

Breakfast was pretty skimpy: OJ, coffee, some chewy white bagels, donuts, and sweetened instant oatmeal. There is no fruit, yogurt, whole wheat bread, cold cereal or anything healthy. I would not call it breakfast, but rather coffee and donuts. There are plenty of places to eat outside, but it should be made more clear what you are getting.

The location is not great, too far from downtown to walk, and in the wrong direction from town if you are heading to ski as we were.

While not horrible, for our purposes, there is little to recommend and we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

My husband surprised our family of four (daughters ages 1 and 4) with a trip to Manchester after the latest snowstorm. He spoke with Alyssa, the front desk manager, to assure we would have a place to stay despite the impending Nor'easter the night before we arrived and she promised a warm, cozy room. I was absolutely blown away by Alyssa's hospitality. She made sure there was a new pack-n-play in our room for our youngest, with a tiny blanket and pillow just for her. The lights and heat were on in the room upon our arrival, as well as fresh toiletries and even sleds for the girls to use on the hill right outside our door.

The Main Office is an old farmhouse that has an adorable library loft where we sat on our laptops while our daughters played with a variety of items Alyssa gave to us (new crayons, lots of paper, and Legos). The fireplace in the Main Office is big and beautiful, the perfect place to enjoy continental breakfast each morning. Alyssa made sure the bagels were fresh and that we had juicy sliced melon alongside steaming tasty coffee and refreshing orange juice.

We stayed in a room with double Queen bedroom and a living room with a toasty fireplace. Alyssa refreshed our towels and toiletries daily and even offered to vacuum up the salt and sand from our boots. Despite being a little bit outdated, the room was immaculate and so very clean. The fireplace was so warm and ideal for the snow falling outside. There was a mini fridge, two televisions, and a dvd player in the living area for the kids. There are dvds to borrow in the Main Office, but we brought our own!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper room with a fireplace that had a balcony and amazing view of the sunrise.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews