We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveller rating
750
395
180
114
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
395
180
114
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarsh tavernchop housefire pitfalcon barfalconry schoolhistoric hotelspg pointsindoor poolcider donutsmain buildingconcierge deskbeautiful resorthot tubnew englandresort feelocker roomhiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

1811 House is no Bed and BREAFAST! We booked 2 rooms in the 1811 House which is part of the Equinox Resort. The main hotel is well staffed and efficient. The 1811 House is a ghost town. Upon arrival there was no one at the house to greet us or take us to our rooms. The rooms are nice but primitive. It’s the first bed and breakfast we been to that does Not Serve Breakfast! In fact, it doesn’t serve anything! You have to cross the street and walk 1/2 block just to get ice! If you call the concierge you get a small bag of ice in about 30 minutes. The beds were not made, we did not get clean towels or toiletries.

There is a lovely old bar off the foyer that is barren and not used. This could be a beautiful B&B with s little attention. It’s most certainly the unwanted step child of the Equinox.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lcollins421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Manager at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lcollins421:

Thank you for your comments on the 1811. We are glad you found our staff efficient and well presented. We apologize for your arrival experience at the 1811, it is one of our most valued assets at the resort. Our standard is to greet and escort each guest to the 1811 house to ensure a great hotel experience and explain its history and its role in the local community. We will definitely be retraining our team as to this standard. We have a great Lincoln legacy at the Equinox with Mary Todd Lincoln and Robert Todd Lincoln both being guests at the Equinox for 2 summers in a row. Their experience at the Equinox helped develop their love for Vermont and Manchester, where they eventually built their summer home at Hildene. Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter actually lived at the 1811 house and ran it as an Inn.

We agree that it is a beautiful Inn and the Tavern is lovely with great views of the Taconic mountain range. We do regularly open the Tavern for theme nights and special events which is always very well received as well as complimentary coffee service. Breakfast is served in our main building offering a great breakfast buffet and the concierge offers historical tours of all the Equinox buildings, including 1811. Many guests enjoy the tranquility and privacy of being apart from the main building although it is just across the street.

Again thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Where do I start? We are lifetime platinum Starwood members and had a reservation for 3 nights for a king deluxe room. When we arrived, we were told they gave our room away and will put us in a townhouse. It’s a gross disaster. Mold, broken tiles, a beat up chipped dirty stove, a bathroom window with no window treatment for privacy, and so on. This hotel advertises itself as a luxury collection - seriously? An icky shower with a tacky shower curtain, no plush robes, no bathtub, no luxury bath amenity products, none of the normal Starwood luxury hotel ambience. We’re checking out. No, you don’t want to stay in this dump. See pics for proof. It’s not clean and in good shape. Bathroom mirror filthy. Can’t belive this is a Starwood property.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffronlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Owner at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Saffronlewis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have shared your feedback with our team so that we may take this and use it as a training opportunity.

Our townhouses will be renovated later in the year, and we are confident this will take care of the older feeling of those rooms. We appreciate your loyalty, and would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please contact me directly should your travels bring you back to the Manchester area so that I may personally handle your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I am truly disappointed in this property. It was highly recommended to my husband and I Celebrating our 15 th anniversary. Upon arrival we were told we were in the town houses. I thought, wow did we get an upgrade? Um nope. Open our door to the smell of pot in the hall. We are room 533. Open the door and the room is so tiny. No fridge. Plastic glasses. Even the days inn gives you glasses. There’s a dog barking directly behind us and I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves as to the cleanliness. Had to walk to the bar to get ice. Rain storm and not one umbrella in sight for guests leaving property to go to dinner. Im actually sitting in the room as I write this. Will speak to management in the am. Unfortunately we could not find other accommodations for tonight. So we are stuck

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Manager at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Pamela J: Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. What you experienced is definitely not our normal standard of service. Please rest assured we are following up with the appropriate departments to correct the details you mention in housekeeping, the front entrance as well as the noise issues. Glad to hear you are still staying with us- we have left you several voicemail messages in an effort to contact you to help reach a resolution to the issues you mention. Our townhouses are strategically located near all the hotel amenities including our full service spa and 2 Jacuzzi's that offer great views of the Equinox Mountain and are enjoyed by many guests but I am sure we can help you with finding a room to your liking.

Please reach out to us directly today at the Front Desk - we are waiting for you and would be more than happy to help you.

Thanks and looking forward to meeting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We've stayed at the Equinox probably 10 times over the years, for weeks on end to attend the Dorset horse show and we always loved it . Since our last visit, Marriott decorators have stamped their bland anonymous I-could-be-anywhere taste throughout this elegant, historic hotel. Gone are the fascinating photos going back to the 1800 and early1900's, replaced by stock photos of feathers and owls! Kitsch cheesy chatchkas littered everywhere in the library and lobbies. The rooms are now shades of taupe and gray, we could have been in Toronto or Dayton or Rochester. The furniture before was lovely and suited the place, now it's mid-market pseudo trendy. Marriott seems to know nothing about New England, how embarrassing.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank M7679TUcynthiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Manager at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear M7679TUcynthiac:

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to the Equinox Golf and Spa Resort.

We have completed a full renovation of the hotel including guest rooms, public areas, meeting areas and restaurants which includes replacement of carpet, wall vinyl, lighting, furniture and decoration. We have tried to incorporate the history of the hotel into our renovation especially in our public spaces. The changes really tell the story of The Equinox and its rich history. One of The Equinox’s restored gas chandeliers from the 19th century Opera House across the street has been restored and hung in the Great Room, while the original antique key box has been mounted behind the front desk to hold the tradition of the resort and its era. A focal point of the property is the Library, where guests have been gathering around the wood-burning marble fireplace since 1769. The intimate area also caters to special events with an expansive hardwood dining table, lounge chairs tucked into cozy spots with smaller tables for intimate gatherings, reading, or playing board games with the family.

We would be glad to provide you a historical tour of the property upon your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss your comments in detail.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Our family of four chose the Equinox for a 2-night getaway because of the golf course. It was a great choice. The room was oversized and beautifully decorated as is the entire hotel. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed the golf course and thought the family rate was a great value. A few constructive criticisms...It was extremely hot while we were there and there was no water to be found. It would have been nice to have ice water available in the lobby. It could have been made available with the coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning and then left out all day. A lot of people were looking for water or a place to fill bottles. There was no place to buy cold drinks or snacks at the hotel and nowhere within walking distance of the hotel. Also, there was no service on the back patio. i.e. I sat out there one night with a cocktail that I carried from the bar. All of the tables were littered with glasses and plates and no one ever came out to clean them up. On a positive note, the concierge, Richard, was a real pro. The overall experience was very good and we would visit the Equinox again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Manager at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear. Beth L -Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found your room to your liking and our staff service to friendly and accommodating. We will certainly follow up on the water suggestion for the lobby and the deck service. Surpassing our guests expectations is our number one priority and those are great suggestions.

Thank you for mentioning the superior concierge service you received. Richard is one of our star associates and knows everything about what is going on in the area as well as those unique Vermont experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews