We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Boo-tiful Farm House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wimberley, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KWESTRIDE
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boo-tiful Farm House”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I thought this stay needed a review to give vacationers a full picture of what to expect. Maybe it is because it is Halloween season, but my wife was seriously spooked staying at this farm house. This is a charming house with character in spades, but as advertised off the grid a bit. You take a winding dirt road to get to the house. The house is very unique with various artwork and awesome woodwork and tiling inside. The doors are unlocked, windows open and breeze is flowing through. You are in the country, so you can here everything....especially at night. The wind whips, acorns fall and at one point during the night it sounded like a tornado came through. Wasn't the best sleep. The beds were not comfortable either. That is the bad and the honest.

We liked the thoughtfulness of the owners to leave coffee, snack bars, lavendar epsom salt, mini-toothpaste... for the renters. The gardens, flowers, plants, outdoor walls and fields were beautiful. The house is just unique in its layout and decore.

It is a quick drive to get to Wimberly too and has room for 4 adults and 2 kids. We did not use the TV, but the water and electricity worked.

I am giving it 4 stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review! Yes, Karakía is very unique in that it is a farmhouse with all the wonderful gifts nature offers! While remote, but safe, the windows can be left open to hear the soft breezes outside. An occasional acorn hitting the rooftop is a gentle reminder that Fall is upon us! :) We are so happy you stayed with us, and we hope you visit again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, unplugged getaway”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

By far the best, most relaxing vacation we've ever had! We arrived Friday afternoon and the air conditioners and fans were already running, along with a welcome letter with detailed instructions for the house. Every question we had while there we texted to Bethany and received a reply within minutes. Even though the house is solar powered, we had more than enough electricity for the air conditioners, fans, a few lights after dark, and the tv for the kids to watch movies. There are two queen sized beds, one upstairs and one downstairs, along with 2 twins and a full size upstairs. The house is very inviting and we found ourselves spending most of our time just hanging out enjoying it.
Cell phone service is sketchy inside the house, which was fine with us because we wanted no distractions. It's a short walk to the lake, maybe 5 minutes depending on whether or not you're sight seeing. The lake is nice, but if you're hoping to swim be careful if the water level is low, because it was about 4 feet lower than the pictures show and it was very slippery and covered with hydrila from the bank out about 8 feet. Once you get in the water, it was very pleasant.
All in all, it's just a great retreat. If you're looking just a place to stay while you visit Wimberly and nearby attractions, you're wasting you're money, because the house and property are attractions themselves. Pictures don't do this place justice and the house itself is full of neat little features, such as a little trap door on one of the bedroom doors. You have everything you need for a good time all in one spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks for the lovely review! Please come stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinjoy
austin, tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful family getaway”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful house is located just outside of Wimberley, only about a ten minute drive into the town. From the photos I expected it to be pretty, but the moment we pulled up to the house I was really amazed at how delightful it is. Every detail was clearly designed with thought and love. Even though it was in the 80's outside the house was cool with all the windows open and the ceiling fans on. There were a/c's that we used to cool the upstairs bedrooms to make sleeping more comfortable. The owner was easy to contact when we realized one of the bedrooms had accidentally been left locked and the issue was resolved quickly. We had everything we needed to enjoy a very relaxing family weekend for Mother's Day. The kitchen was well equipped and every part of the house was spacious and inviting. We especially enjoyed the big porch and the claw foot tub in the master bedroom. We went on long walks each day of our stay and discovered the big pond on the property. The house was exceptionally clean and the beds and linens were all nice. I wouldn't call it "no frills" because that sometimes feels like a negative comment, so maybe "simple comfort" is a better description. As a reviewer I would point out that there is no air conditioning directly in the downstairs bedroom, but that was not a problem for our group. Perhaps it may make that room less comfortable in the dead of summer depending on your personal needs for climate control, but we are already talking about trying to go back in July if the house is available. If you are looking for a serene environment I highly recommend this rental. For me it really checked all the boxes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Such a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time. We'd love to welcome you and your family back this summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing