We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Shopping!”
Review of Slovacek's

Slovacek's
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in West
Cuisines: American
Description: Slovacek's Provides Sausage, Kolache, Deli Meats, Bakery, Gift Shop, Exxon Affiliated to the West, TX Area.
Restaurant details
Description: Slovacek's Provides Sausage, Kolache, Deli Meats, Bakery, Gift Shop, Exxon Affiliated to the West, TX Area.
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

Great pastries and bar b que. All kinds of gifts, yard decor and great assortment of European Christmas decorations year round. Have never bought any of the plentiful smoked sausages, meats and cheeses , but hope to soon. Lots more charm that the national travel stop chain with almost as much variety.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Lannymh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2023

Awesome food! Great place to stop and grab food to go. We stopped there at night and then again when we were heading home, because it was sooo good!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2023

Stopped in traveling. Interesting Bucket List Place. Expected to sit at a table, but you order and pick up and find a place to sit inside or out or to-go. BBQ sandwich was pricey - but delicious! Would go back! The bakery looks fantastic, but we passed.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patmD7336VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2023

We went to a dance in Lagrange, TX and the halfway mark was in West, TX. We stopped at Slovacek's for lunch, since we've seen it on The Texas Bucket List TV show. What a fun place! They have a full bakery section with numerous, reasonably priced kolaches (fruit and sausage), a hot food section with brisket, sausage, turkey, etc. you can buy by the pound, platter, or sandwich, with sides. Like Bucees, they have clean bathrooms,lots of gas lames. drink stations, home made breads and jellies to buy, and fun tee shirt and accessory items. The garden decor items are also plentiful and there's a separate Christmas store. We liked the beer bread sandwich with cheese and 3 large sausage links cut in half, so you can get your mouth around the sandwich. On our way home, we picked up to small link kolaches to eat in the car, and a half dozen fruit ones to take home. Prices on the food were very reasonable (fruti or cream cheese kolaches, $1.89, and smal link kolaches $1.89). On Sunday early afternoon the line was wrapped around the store for the bakery BUT, they have plenty of folks working and you can pay at any register. We knew what we wanted and were out of there in 10 minutes! Worth the trip!

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WendyHappiness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023

I'm eastern European heritage and have heard that TX Kolaches are not like our small, dainty kolacky pastries (dough filled with fruit fillings) but we still wanted to experience. Saw signs on highway and decided to make a quick side-trip off the highway - convenient it was lunchtime. This place has a regular meat counter (raw meats) plus sausages, cheeses, etc. You can also get BBQ plates or kolaches - both meat and fruit. The brisket kolache was a great lunch. The fruit kolaches are good as well. Neat place to stop and shop. Lot's of Christmas decor - don't know if it is there year round or just cause it was January. However, they do have a Christmas store across the parking lot, it's new, but we didn't stop.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosieTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Slovacek's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.