We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Gula

Gula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We were drawn to this restaurant by the clean white appearance. We were left feeling disappointed. None of the staff we engaged with spoke English apart from the lady taking the payment. They give you an IPad to view the menu on, we were unsure whether we were ordering through this or if a waiter would come back to take the order. We had the iPad placed on our tables, ready to order for 10-15 minutes, it was quite confusing. It would have been helpful if the waiter who gave us iPad explained the ordering procedure. The wine is very overpriced, €20 for a 700ml of San Valentin that you get in supermarket for €4.50. Bread was placed on the table before we ordered and I asked how much it was or if it was complementary, the waiter didn’t know the answer. Another waiter told us that he think it’s €3.50, we didn’t eat it. The curry and spaghetti Bolognese were bland, we added a lot of seasoning ourselves!
We were given a small appetiser on the house which was a nicer touch. However, no one explained to us what it was, we didn’t know if it was fish or meat. We wouldn’t eat here again.

Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiayara_Abbassi, Community manager at Gula, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear customer, we are sorry about what happened and we apologize for it. We inform you that we have already discussed what happened with the manager.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018

Whole restaurant looks clean with white table-cloth and a direct view into the kitchen - this is a good business card and therefore an invitation to try this restaurant.

We did it and will do it again on our next visit.

Food was different from what you can generally find in Playa de las Americas. There was not just a piece of meat or fish with the standardised shrinked potatoes (in fact they are not bad but nobody wants to see them everyday as a standard side dish) but a creative presentation of what can one eat in Teneriffa. The dessert was no industrial molecular disaster which you normally get - it was self-made. Excellent and another reason to go there.

The service staff explained what is on your plate which is very good and makes the job as service staff more interesting! Staff was always friendly and smiling I suppose exactly because of such important detail.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hello K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiayara_Abbassi, Community manager at Gula, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for your visit and for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to Playa many times and have been looking for a new restaurant to augment our regulars so decided to try Gula. We found the food to be very good and the service well intentioned if a little clunky at times. There is a slight novelty approach to the menu, which is on an iPad. The photos are a little off putting and definitely don’t do justice to the food, which is really nicely presented. The staff were pleasant but a bit disorganised, with a few improvements, some training and floor management could be easily rectified. For next time, I would take a sweater and sit in the outside area which was quite buzzy, but a little cool when the sun went down.

2  Thank enthusiasticfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiayara_Abbassi, Community manager at Gula, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for your visit and for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Ate here twice after reading reviews.. first thing that struck us is how friendly the staff are - Carlos was our favourite... you are given an iPad to choose your food from!! That was funny with my mum who is a technophobe!

King prawns starter was my favourite - you are given warm bread & butter and a taster dish

I would highly recommend this restaurant

Thank Allison37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has an impressive high-class ambiance that’s reflected in its pricing... But sadly not in what they serve. Below average rice and rough service. Best avoided.

Thank Matteo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gula also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Gula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing